Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Thu Mar 22, 2018 11:51 am

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 3:52 am 
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
I noticed that the way supply lines are drawn can give away information.

supply lines.jpg
supply lines.jpg [ 83.16 KiB | Viewed 686 times ]

Notice all lines stop short of "A", but happily go all the way to "B" and all the other systems. Since this is turn 1, it is indirectly informing me that there's a space monster or hostile fleet at "A". That takes a little excitement from exploration.

I suggest any unexplored/unknown systems should be treated the same way as hostile systems: supply lines of both types should not go through them. Our virtual, abstracted transports shouldn't go into utterly unknown systems.

Of course it is possible later in the game that the player would get information of where ships might be from supply lines being cut off, but that at least can have a reasonable in-game explanation: If our abstracted transports are suddenly getting blocked/destroyed, their absence would be noticed.

—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 5:28 pm 
Designer and Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Posts: 2058
Location: Orion
That's odd. I thought that supply lines were drawn by the client, and therefore couldn't provide any information that the player isn't supposed to have. I guess I was mistaken.

Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 5:50 pm 
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12158
Location: Munich
The server sends a list of all resource and supply line connections (starlane traversals) that the player's empire can make. Empires can't send supplies through systems containing hostile ships, so this will be visible to attentive players from their missing resource sharing lanes in the UI. This is intentional, and doesn't involve the client knowing any more than it should.

Currently it seems to be allowing supply line connections to systems the player hasn't explored (have had at least partial visibility of at some point), which as eleazar notes, it probably shouldn't.

Edit: changed so that unexplored systems block resource supply. Don't know what happens with fleet supply... /Edit

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group