FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 6:35 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 4
I have had problems in two games in a row where the auto save and save function both error out. The common point may be when the save file is greater then 16KB. New install, Win10, and version v0.4.6[2016-09-16.49F9123]. Its late in the games and "winning" is not really in doubt, but its annoying since there is the error message every turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:08 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12040
Location: Munich
Fuzzer wrote:
The common point may be when the save file is greater then 16KB. New install, Win10, and version v0.4.6[2016-09-16.49F9123].
Do you mean 16 MB? A turn 1 autosave should be ~ 80 KB with default settings.

Such an error could occur if it's unable to allocate enough memory to store all the save data, and as a result can't decompress it.

Have you tried enabling binary save serialization?


Attachments:
File comment: binary serialization option
binary_serialization.png
binary_serialization.png [ 189.84 KiB | Viewed 432 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:58 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 4
:lol: I did indeed mean 16MB. The last save that worked was 16091KB. I will try the Binary save file. I had not noticed it under the "Other" tab. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:32 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 4
It seems to have worked. The save files bloated up to 64MB, but working well.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:10 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12040
Location: Munich
Could you clarify how the error first appeared? When saving, or when trying to load a previously-successfully created save?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 7:44 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:51 am
Posts: 4
It started on a save, and also effected auto saves. (May have started on the auto saves as well, but I think not...) The save would error out, and the save file would be 0KB, same as for the auto saves.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12040
Location: Munich
In that case, another instance of backup-code could be added to revert to binary save if the compressed XML save fails.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group