FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
New compile, no logs are generated. Just get:

Quote:
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock


Any idea where to look or what to try?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:59 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:37 pm
Posts: 198
Code:
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr
does not look like it is from the FreeOrion source code. Try looking where that is from.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:55 pm 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1040
Location: Germany
> jack server is not running or cannot be started

I would guess that's related to JACK library http://jackaudio.org/ . However this is part of your distribution and we maybe use this only through the Freeorion OpenAL Soft dependency.

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:48 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:

build 2017-08-27.63d9181

Code:
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:58 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4374
AndrewW wrote:
Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:

As noted above, this appears to be a problem with Jack. A quick search on your error messages comes up with this potential fix using some Jack setup utility, perhaps that will work for you also.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:50 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Dilvish wrote:
AndrewW wrote:
Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:

As noted above, this appears to be a problem with Jack. A quick search on your error messages comes up with this potential fix using some Jack setup utility, perhaps that will work for you also.


Thanks, hadn't gotten to searching yet. Alas still no go, does change the error at least:

Code:
Cannot lock down 82274202 byte memory area (Cannot allocate memory)
Cannot lock down 82274202 byte memory area (Cannot allocate memory)
Cannot use real-time scheduling (RR/5)(1: Operation not permitted)
JackClient::AcquireSelfRealTime error
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::exception_detail::clone_impl<boost::exception_detail::error_info_injector<boost::system::system_error> >'
  what():  bind: Address already in use


If I disable sound in the Options it just gives me the boost error.

When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:12 am 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 199
AndrewW wrote:
Code:
  what():  bind: Address already in use


If I disable sound in the Options it just gives me the boost error.

When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.

But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Ophiuchus wrote:
But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?


Correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:28 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12015
Location: Munich
AndrewW wrote:
When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.
AndrewW wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:
But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?
Correct.

What does that mean specifically? What happens when you try to start a game? Are logs generated in this case? If so, post them.

Also try disabling autosaves, or enabling binary save files.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:42 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Geoff the Medio wrote:
What does that mean specifically? What happens when you try to start a game? Are logs generated in this case? If so, post them.

Also try disabling autosaves, or enabling binary save files.


I try either Single Player (after putting in settings) or Quickstart and I get a black screen, the error comes up on the console. No logs are created. Tried changing log level to trace, still no logs.

Saves disabled, no change.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:52 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12015
Location: Munich
If you don't get any log files, there's something else going wrong. Maybe check what user owns the binaries and what the write permissions are for directories where logs should be created?

If you build older versions, does it work? Until when?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:59 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Geoff the Medio wrote:
If you don't get any log files, there's something else going wrong. Maybe check what user owns the binaries and what the write permissions are for directories where logs should be created?


My user as usual and writeable. Just tried running as root to see, still no log files.

Geoff the Medio wrote:
If you build older versions, does it work? Until when?


Haven't tried, but can give that a try.


Note the Boost error comes up as soon as the Galaxy Setup screen appears, get the black screen after that if using Single Player, Quickstart get the Boost error and a black screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:01 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
[build 2017-08-06.7ae15e0] - Same error and black screen.

Code:
[build 2017-08-02.f7ba95b]

Messages / Empires appears
Creating AI Clients
Generating Universe

Console:
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range'
  what():  _Map_base::at


Also getting with the cmake:

Code:
-- Could NOT find cppcheck (missing:  CPPCHECK_EXECUTABLE)
-- Could NOT find pycodestyle (missing:  PYCODESTYLE_EXECUTABLE)
-- Could NOT find Doxygen (missing:  DOXYGEN_EXECUTABLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:55 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4374
AndrewW wrote:
No logs are created.
Just to double check, you are looking in the new-ish location for logs?

Quote:
Also getting with the cmake:
Code:
-- Could NOT find cppcheck (missing:  CPPCHECK_EXECUTABLE)
-- Could NOT find pycodestyle (missing:  PYCODESTYLE_EXECUTABLE)
-- Could NOT find Doxygen (missing:  DOXYGEN_EXECUTABLE)
Those are optional, for style checking and automatic documentation generation, they don't affect the actual executables.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:03 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 757
Dilvish wrote:
Just to double check, you are looking in the new-ish location for logs?


Errr, oops nope hadn't had to pull up a log in awhile, do remember it changing once upon a time though.

Dilvish wrote:
Those are optional, for style checking and automatic documentation generation, they don't affect the actual executables.


Wasn't sure, thought I would mention it.

Attachment:
freeorion.log [13.63 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time


Attachment:
freeoriond.log [24.77 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group