FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:32 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:26 am 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:57 pm
Posts: 22
Location: UK
Hi

Tried a game as Egassem and found that after turn 6 the pop on my HW started to decline. There was no Kraken sitting on the HW; AFAIK Kraken are the only 'normal' monster to kill lithic species.

Looking at the planet data shows a continual prediction of pop dropping after turn 6. PP drops in parallel with the pop so it's unlikely to be a bug in the graphing or whatever - the pop really does seem to vanish.

I have screen shots of the planet pop at different turns, and of the pop and production curves for turns 1 to 10. I have kept the first 10 .sav files which I could upload if desired.

System: Win 7 Pro 64 SP1 on 500 GB 850 EVO; game install on 1TB WD Black. Asus P8Z77 Pro, Intel i7-3770K @ stock 3.5GHz, 16GB Vengeance Red 2300MHz. Windows updated this morning before installing the FO build.


Game parameters: elliptical, age medium, 200 systems, starlanes medium, monsters low, specials low, natives high, planet density high. Player Egassem plus 6 AI races, maniacal. Seed: 2102.

Thanks for your excellent hard work on this brilliant game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:50 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12082
Location: Munich
Screenshot illustrating the issue and a save that reproduces it would be appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:42 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4339
Location: Sol III
@Heracliton, can you open an issue on github?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 6:56 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 315
May it have been that biological warfare thing that you can counter with the genome bank building?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:36 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 111
I believe i'm seeing a similar (or possibly the same) issue. (v0.4.7+ [build 2017-12-14.8693b73] MSVC 2015)

There is an "Unknown" +8.00 (twice planet size) Population on my Egassem homeworld at turn 38 (this is the earliest save i have), which disappears on the next turn, after which the population begins to decline. I can't think of a good explanation of where that +8 is coming from (though it could be some mechanic i'm forgetting or am unaware of).

Logs and save file from turn 38:
Attachment:
EgassemPopBug.zip [399.92 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Seed and settings are these: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=10513#p90918

Screenshot from turn 38:
Attachment:
EgassemPopBug.jpg
EgassemPopBug.jpg [ 292.12 KiB | Viewed 160 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:43 am 
Offline
AI Contributor

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:54 am
Posts: 226
The "unknown" bonus should be the homeworld bonus. No idea why it is displayed as unknown or even fluctuating though.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:05 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 111
Thanks, Morlic.

I've narrowed down the problem i'm seeing (still unsure if it's related to the original problem in this thread) to being related to saved games.

1. Start a new game (it can be any species).
2. Save the game, or let the game autosave when you advance to the next turn.
3. Load the save. The Homeworld bonus is gone.

Can someone confirm/deny that they are seeing this behavior?

UPDATE: The homeworld bonus was displaying correctly as "Homeworld" and not "Unknown" in the Nov. 20 test build. I'm working on narrowing it down further


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:41 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:21 pm
Posts: 214
Location: France
v0.4.7+ [build 2017-12-11.05ee54a]

I can confirm the bug:

- Homeworld bonus is displayed as "Unknown" since Turn 1.
- Passing turns without saving, everything works fine (except "Unknown" of course)
- Save (Passing turns after a save without quitting the game does not produce the bug)
- Quit then load the last save
- Passing a turn after the save has been loaded makes the Homeworld - Unknown bonus simply disappear.

_________________
I release every updated file under the CC-BY-SA 3.0 license.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:07 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 111
Thanks for the confirmation that it's not just on my end, Ouaz.

Update: Working in 12/4 test build 25bd9a9
broken in 12/11 05ee54a

I'll try to gather some more info/see if i can figure out what went wrong, otherwise i'll post a github issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:36 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 111
Update: Working in b1ab67a https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... 9d2913fd3a

Broken by the next commit 110ba9f https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... 9e91736941 (Make Universe:: ResetUniverse() and Clear() into single function.)

Github issue: https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/issues/1920


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:12 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4339
Location: Sol III
@alleryn, thanks for helping pinpoint that issue :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:17 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:57 pm
Posts: 22
Location: UK
Apologies for the delay in following up/replying, due to illness.

I shall indeed post screenshots & files, but before that I want to install FO on my new(ish) laptop to see if that resolves various persistent bugs on my i7 desktop (e.g., nothing higher than Industrial Centers ever appears on either available or unavailable build queues no matter how high I research). Allow me a few days for that.

With best wishes for a Merry Christmas and a very happy & successful New Year to all the developers and fans of this exceptionally fine game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:21 am 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 315
Heracliton wrote:
nothing higher than Industrial Centers ever appears on either available or unavailable build queues no matter how high I research
If you mean that you can't build Ind. Centers better than the initial one, that's fine. Researching the first Ind. Centers tech allows you to build the building, researching the other two techs automatically upgrades the Ind. Center building for you (you get the extra bonus the turn after receiving the sit. rep on the tech, IIRC).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:03 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4339
Location: Sol III
@Heracliton, when you reinstall FO, please make sure to use the most recent test build (I'm going to make new ones this evening). Some fixes went in very recently that might have solved your issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:13 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:57 pm
Posts: 22
Location: UK
@Oberlus

Thanks for that information, though I haven't ever noticed any boost - perhaps because by that stage I'm usually expanding quite fast and getting other production-related tech. Maybe a brief note in the relevant Pedia entries tp prevent other newbies getting confused?

@Vezzra

Cheers mate, have just downloaded it. Will install tomorrow.

Quick Q: where / how are the planet hab ranges defined for a given race? I have a hankering to make a race somewhat equivalent to the HE in Stars! - live everywhere except gas giants & maybe asteroid belts. Several handicaps to compensate/balance. Sort of a non-Super tester :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group