FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:04 pm 
Offline
Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1924
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E
Very Nice work! You seem to be on fire lately :) I've been fascinated by the MoveTo effect since reading about it on SVN and in the wiki. Does it allow to move planets to another star?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:22 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
Yes, you should be able to move planets to other stars with the MoveTo effect. Anything except a system can be moved to the location of another object, with the restrictions:
* Planets can only be moved to the location of systems (not fleets or ships between systems) that aren't full (9 planets max, including asteroid belts)
* Buildings can only be moved to the location of planets (need to specify the planet or a building on a planet, a system or a fleet or ship doesn't work)
* Systems can't be moved (as above, but again for clarity)

The MoveTo effect takes a condition parameter, which is used to specify the destination where the target objects (selected by the Source condition) is moved. This condition can refer to the Source object, but not the target object (that is being moved)... So unfortunately you can't (for example) use a distance range from the target object to limit the choice of destination objects, because you can't refer to the target object in this condition. But you can (for example) pick planets that have a particular building or special on them, or stars of a particular type or owned by or not owned by the source object's owner.

(I haven't actually tested moving planets, though...)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:05 am 
Offline
Graphics
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:49 am
Posts: 452
Location: California, USA
Does this mean "stargates" are possible now? If so, woohoo!

_________________
Photo-dump.

Musings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:43 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
Josh wrote:
Does this mean "stargates" are possible now?

Should be... We'd need to figure out an appropriate condition to decide where the move a fleet to, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
Graphics
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:49 am
Posts: 452
Location: California, USA
Woohoo! pretty much sums up my thoughts then. Keep up the good work.

_________________
Photo-dump.

Musings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:37 am 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 576
How will the client know weather colonies are advanced enough to generate supply lines, and weather other players have researched techs that extend the number of jumps in a supply line?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 9:44 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
(The preceeding post by Tortanick was originally posted on my Recent Additions thread in reply to this post, but was moved here)

Tortanick wrote:
How will the client know weather colonies are advanced enough to generate supply lines, and weather other players have researched techs that extend the number of jumps in a supply line?

If a player has good enough visibility of another player's planet, the first player will know the supply and construction meters' values. These determine the fleet supply and resource supply ranges, respectively. The specific techs or other effects that caused these meters to be what they are might not be known, but they don't need to be to know how far the supply lines extend.

I imagine we'll make construction / infrastructure level quite easy to see on a planet, so it should be fairly easy to see how far enemy empires can send resources, if you've seen their planets at all. Since fleet supply range should also be fairly easy to see, we'd probably want to make planets' supply meters easy to see see as well.

(For now, seeing a planet gives you full information about all its meter values.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:04 am 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:45 pm
Posts: 40
Great improvements. Also - I've been wondering about this pretty much since I first downloaded FO - will fleets be able to blockade an enemy resource line?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:51 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
MrV wrote:
will fleets be able to blockade an enemy resource line?

Armed ships will, as discussed in the design pad...
v0.4 Design Pad wrote:
Blockades happen when a system contains a fleet or fleets that meet following requirements:
- The fleets(s) are all owned by empires with diplomatic status that allows blockades against the empire being blockaded. If an empire has an armed fleet in a system, the empire is not blockaded in that system.
- The fleet(s) contain ships that have offensive weapons.
- The fleets(s) contain ships that have sufficient detection ability to see the resource distribution ships of the empire to be blockaded. Empires with appropriate techs that make their resource distribution ships hard to detect cannot be blockaded by empires that have poor detection technology.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:09 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 576
Geoff the Medio wrote:
(The preceeding post by Tortanick was originally posted on my Recent Additions thread in reply to this post, but was moved here)


Opps, sorry about that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 6:29 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:34 pm
Posts: 10
Location: NYC
Is it possible to have fleets belonging to different empires who are at war in the same system without them attacking eachother till all are dead?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
kgable10 wrote:
Is it possible to have fleets belonging to different empires who are at war in the same system without them attacking eachother till all are dead?

That's basically what happens now for ships with weapons, although the current battle / combat system is due to be replaced with a player-interactive one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:24 am 
Offline
Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1924
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E
Is there a chance to get a new release, with all the new galaxymap goodies?

I noticed that the system circles appear around every star on the map. Has it been considered to only show them at systems (visibly) connected with starlanes? It's kind of meaningless to have them at unknown, unconnected systems, no?

Any chance to get those circles anti-aliased?

Great work!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
pd wrote:
Is there a chance to get a new release, with all the new galaxymap goodies?

I've been suggesting it to tzlaine, but he hasn't gotten around to it yet, apparently.

Quote:
I noticed that the system circles appear around every star on the map. Has it been considered to only show them at systems (visibly) connected with starlanes? It's kind of meaningless to have them at unknown, unconnected systems, no?

I suppose that could be done... The idea is to make the clickable area clearer, but in the case of non-connected systems, there's presently no need to click them.

Quote:
Any chance to get those circles anti-aliased?

I'm not sure. I'll have to look into it. A quick google search suggests it's possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Recent Additions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:28 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12042
Location: Munich
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Quote:
Any chance to get those circles anti-aliased?
I'm not sure. I'll have to look into it. A quick google search suggests it's possible.

Done.


Attachments:
Smoothed_Circles.png
Smoothed_Circles.png [ 67.76 KiB | Viewed 4234 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group