FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:33 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:07 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Hi,

I was finally able to reproduce the segfault I reported before, on build.e7f05d8, four times in a row. I gave the following commands after loading the autosave,
Phyco a, minimus b - transformer top
minimus b II - abaddoni colony top
keeta b astoriods - colonize
crystous I - colonize
keeta b - selecting pedia entry caretakers fruit with right click, selecting ulduz g leads to the gamecrash on my machine.

I used following options:
./freeorion --UI.combat.summary.graph.bar_health_smooth 0 --UI.font-size 11 --UI.objects-list-info-col-1 OBJECT_TYPE --UI.objects-list-width-col-1 60 --UI.objects-list-info-col-2 METER_POPULATION --UI.objects-list-width-col-2 90 --UI.objects-list-info-col-3 OWNER --UI.objects-list-width-col-3 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-4 PLANET_TYPE --UI.objects-list-width-col-4 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-5 SIZE_AS_DOUBLE --UI.objects-list-width-col-5 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-6 SPECIES --UI.objects-list-width-col-6 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-7 FOCUS --UI.objects-list-width-col-7 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-8 METER_INDUSTRY --UI.objects-list-width-col-8 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-9 METER_TARGET_INDUSTRY --UI.objects-list-width-col-9 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-10 METER_RESEARCH --UI.objects-list-width-col-10 96 --UI.objects-list-info-col-11 METER_TARGET_RESEARCH --UI.objects-list-width-col-11 96 --UI.sitrep-font-size 11 --UI.small-fleet-button-minimum-zoom 0.75 --UI.sound.music-enabled 0 --UI.title-font-size 11

Save:
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=72557923793973414031

Hopefully this will help getting rid of this problem! It's annoying me for quite some time now

Config and log attached


Attachments:
freeoriond.log [16.82 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
config.xml [25.08 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:27 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
Do you have the freeorion.log still?

_________________
Any content posted should be considered licensed GNU GPL 2.0 and/or CC-BY-SA 3.0 as appropriate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:31 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Scara wrote:
I gave the following commands after loading the autosave,
Phyco a, minimus b - transformer top
minimus b II - abaddoni colony top
keeta b astoriods - colonize
crystous I - colonize
keeta b - selecting pedia entry caretakers fruit with right click, selecting ulduz g leads to the gamecrash on my machine.
Could you clarify what these "commands" mean? I attempted to do what I assume they meant, but got no crash.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:35 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3291
That last line.

I'm having intermittent crahses if I select a system from a Pedia link from within the PRoduction Window, and only within the ProdWnd. I mentioned it to The Silent One on his PR as it became noticeable when he did the recent work on the ProdWnd Pedia page, but he's convinced it's unrelated and just made more prominent as I'm more likely to be using the Pedia in PRodWnd now.

I meant to open an Issue and forgot, but it looks like the exact same thing. Looking up a special by right clicking it within prodwnd then going to a planet it's located at, or using a species suitability report or similar list of systems/planets and the game crashes.

But it's not easily repeatable and only seems to happen when I've been playign awhile, I've not repeated it from within a newly run game yet.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:20 pm 
Offline
Graphics
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 8:27 pm
Posts: 708
I can't reproduce the crash, but do I understand correctly that it only occurs when a pedia planet link is clicked?

_________________
If I provided any images, code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:30 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Quote:
I can't reproduce the crash, but do I understand correctly that it only occurs when a pedia planet link is clicked?

Ah, to bad... hoped to nail that bug for once.
I still have the freeorion.log aswell, I'll send it later, still at work...
Yeah, pretty much of these happen on working with pedia. I can't tell if prod window must be open.
But I tried to reproduce the bug directly after loading and it didn't crash.
I did my normal round stuff (as described, adding stuff to the prod list and colonizing) and at the end used the pedia planet link to the other caretakers fruits planet --> that crashed
When having these segfaults I was mostly doing something with pedia, especially following links and it never crashed when repeating the last thing that led to the crash after loading the last autosave. That's the reason I discribed the stuff that I did to reproduce the crash.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 1:39 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Scara wrote:
That's the reason I discribed the stuff that I did to reproduce the crash.
In future, describe such actions more precisely. Where did you click exactly? How did you go from one screen / system to another? How did you enqueue stuff?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:48 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Yeah, still can reproduce the crash.
The order I do the following stuff doesn't apparently matter, as I tried it in different orders, only the pedia check I did at the end, if I did it at the beginning directly after loading it won't crash:
Phyco a II - add transformer to top of production list
Minimus b - add transformer to top of production list
minimus b II - add abaddoni colony building to top of production list
keeta b astoriods - colonize both asteroids
crystous I - colonize tiny terra planet
keeta b I - selecting pedia entry caretakers fruit on the planet with right click, selecting the other planet ulduz g haveing that special leads to the gamecrash on my machine.

Quote:
I'm having intermittent crahses if I select a system from a Pedia link from within the PRoduction Window, and only within the ProdWnd.

Yeah right! I just tried, doing the last three mentioned orders NOT in prod. wind. and indeed it won't crash.
Then I went into Prod. Wind. and did the last order again to succeed in crashing.

Logs:


Attachments:
freeoriond.log [16.82 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times
freeorion.log [56.92 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:56 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Scara wrote:
Phyco a II - add transformer to top of production list
Minimus b - add transformer to top of production list
minimus b II - add abaddoni colony building to top of production list
keeta b astoriods - colonize both asteroids
crystous I - colonize tiny terra planet
keeta b I - selecting pedia entry caretakers fruit on the planet with right click, selecting the other planet ulduz g haveing that special leads to the gamecrash on my machine.
Please be specific about how you do these actions. In particular, how do you move between systems / select planets, do the "add X to the top..." action, etc.

Edit: Also, is there any way you can provide a crash stack trace?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:26 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Quote:
Please be specific about how you do these actions. In particular, how do you move between systems / select planets, do the "add X to the top..." action, etc.

Well, after it loaded I double clicked the Phyco system on the starmap to open the Prod. Window. and select the Planet II. In the producible items I select transformer with right click and put it directly at the top.
I stay in prod. Wind. and select the minimus system with left and add the transformer out of the producible items again with right select add to top.
Still in prod. wind. and minimus system I select the second planet and select the abaddoni colony building from the producibles with right and add to top.
Now, in my last try I left the prod. wind. and selected the keeta system on the starmap. There I colonized the two asteroids with the outpost bases.
Then I selected crystous system and colonized the tiny first terran planet with the organic outposter.
Then I selected the keeta system again (still in fleet wind.) and right clicked the caretakers fruit on the first planet with right, to see in pedia other planets having this special.
In pedia I chose the ulduz g planet by left clicking it to get information about size and the system and surprise I got the info =)
Now I wanted to see...
I opened prod. wind. on keeta by double clicking the system on the starmap and again clicked right on the caretakers fruits symbol on the first planet.
The pedia entry in prod. wind. shows up and I select the ulduz g planet again with left and got the crash.
This is what I did and the last Logs I sent were the product.
I hope the information is detailed enough if you have further question, I'm always glad to help!

Edit:
Quote:
Also, is there any way you can provide a crash stack trace?

Never done it before, but I like to learn. Could you give me a quick intro?
If I needed to download and install larger packages it might be a problem as I'm have very limited internet at the moment :(
But as I use Linux everything I need might be already there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:57 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Hey I just found the GNU Debugger and tried it on freeorion, the save and the above procedure, don't now if I did it the right way,
but the information obtained seems not particular helpful for me:
warning: the debug information found in "/lib64/ld-2.19.so" does not match "/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2" (CRC mismatch).

[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
[New Thread 0x7fffe8b4e700 (LWP 4551)]
[Thread 0x7fffe8b4e700 (LWP 4551) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffe8b4e700 (LWP 4552)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdffff700 (LWP 4553)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdebfe700 (LWP 4559)]
FreeOrion server waiting for network events
...
[Thread 0x7fffd5ffb700 (LWP 4768) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdd7fc700 (LWP 4770) exited]

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x000000000048d484 in ?? ()


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:00 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Scara wrote:
Hey I just found the GNU Debugger and tried it on freeorion, the save and the above procedure, don't now if I did it the right way...
I have no idea how to do so, but I'm looking for something like in this post: http://www.freeorion.org/forum/viewtopi ... 148#p82148


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:11 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
Reproduced:

Code:
2016-03-03 10:57:53.201890 [debug] Client : ProductionWnd::UpdateQueue()
2016-03-03 10:57:53.253184 [error] Client : EncyclopediaDetailPanel.cpp:793 : EncyclopediaDetailPanel::HandleLinkClick caught lexical cast exception for link type:  and data:
2016-03-03 10:58:06.460237 [debug] Client : Issue times: planet species: 0.151 ship species: 0.17 specials: 1.397 techs: 3.081 buildings: 0.337 hulls/parts: 1.216 fields: 0.093
2016-03-03 10:58:06.460280 [debug] Client : Evaluation time: 90.991 reorder time: 0.16


Launch with options in first post
Load posted save game
Double click Scara B
Right click caretakerfruit, select pedia
In pedai scroll to bottom, select another planet via link
keep selecting planets in pedia until fault

(rebuilding master/debug atm)

_________________
Any content posted should be considered licensed GNU GPL 2.0 and/or CC-BY-SA 3.0 as appropriate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:20 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
Ah, probably I just had to recompile with debugging instead of release to get the stacktrace, is that right?
Well if so, next time, I prefer running release state default as it's much faster...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:53 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 759
Scara wrote:
Never done it before, but I like to learn. Could you give me a quick intro?


With gdb:

gdb freeorion
run

After the crash:

bt full

Then you should have a backtrace.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group