FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:11 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:05 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:29 am
Posts: 123
Last week's build from source. 4-arms Spiral, 3k systems. It's smack in the middle of one of the arms.


Attachments:
isolated planet.png
isolated planet.png [ 354.78 KiB | Viewed 577 times ]

_________________
All contributions are released under GPL or LGPL v2 or later, or under appropriate Creative Commons licence, consistent with project guidelines.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:53 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Posts: 97
Location: Great White North Eh
Experimenter system?

_________________
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 2:28 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 507
That's no bug! Up your Intelligence to OmniScanner.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:07 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3295
defaultuser wrote:
That's no bug! Up your Intelligence to OmniScanner.

And build a stargate/transformer in the Wiily system…

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 3:14 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:52 am
Posts: 34
Isolated planets would not be a bad idea - Having to plan how to get there (Colonizing neighboring systems before producing a Starlane Bore) would give a twist to strategy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:06 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
Nice feature, indeed. I like it!

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:53 am 
Offline
Space Kraken
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:29 am
Posts: 123
Yes, it's the Experimenter system. I just didn't expect it right in the middle of other systems.

_________________
All contributions are released under GPL or LGPL v2 or later, or under appropriate Creative Commons licence, consistent with project guidelines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:37 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:37 pm
Posts: 205
I could have used a sitrep report. I thought that the isolated planet was a glitch and
only built the starlane to see if it would snap to the apparent planet or if a planet from
another coordinate was being displayed out of place.

A sitrep like the our scientists have observed the formation of a new star sitrep,
would indicate that it is unusual/unique but not a bug.

Perhaps.
Astronomers report discovering a nearby system with no starlane access.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Isolated planet
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:56 pm 
Offline
Space Kraken

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:21 am
Posts: 140
I experienced isolated systems more than one time, it didn't really bug me... and now having starlane bore, why not.
Once I was even isolated with my homesystem with several other systems from the rest of the universe... that wasn't really playable
I think these missing starlanes appear often near the Experimentors Outposts.
That time I was playing with more than one exp. outp., but I could swear it happened in normal games aswell.
I'm not 100% sure if it happend at other places than next to the exp. outp. system, but I guess I have seen it.
This screeny is a bit older, 3 June last year (the two sadr systems to the right):
Attachment:
isolated.jpg
isolated.jpg [ 170.38 KiB | Viewed 444 times ]

This is an interesting one from Jan'16:
Attachment:
strange0.jpg
strange0.jpg [ 77.5 KiB | Viewed 441 times ]

Later having the starlane nexus build, a hidden system came up, where before only a monster was visible!
Attachment:
strange1.jpg
strange1.jpg [ 56.4 KiB | Viewed 441 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group