FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:17 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:42 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3291
That's not currently well documented because we never agreed the exact details on how to finish the feature.

It's linked to the idea that troop building should consume troops from somewhere but we didn't have time to finish the idea let alone update the AI.

And it's the AI update that's the kicker.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:09 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 507
Yeah, I've heard some of the suggestions, like only being able to build as many troop ships as defense forces. I'm not a fan. I guess to my mind the cost of building the ship includes troop training. I think too much of this stuff will greatly slow down late games and just lead to people quitting them out of irritation when many unnecessary turns are added.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:50 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 232
I agree completely.
If you are going to create some independent troop creation process then you should also make troop ships reusable.
Which I really wouldn't be a huge fan of. It's simple the way it is now and that's one of this games strong points.
Of course I don't understand why regular ship weapons can't be used to attack populations, but obviously this was a game design decision made a long time ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:44 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
Ok that may be logical not to allow troops until the planet has some troops available. Practically it makes not much difference as soon as you know why :)

v0.4.6 the next one: Scylior does not add the bonus for "Good Population"; as seen in the pic


Attachments:
Scylior.png
Scylior.png [ 130.29 KiB | Viewed 100 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:54 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3291
Good population only applies to some effects, good environment is one, as are the biological /genetic techs. Research symbiotic biology or the xenological stuff.

Confirm that by looking at a homework or other good environment world.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group