FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:56 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 9:02 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:58 am
Posts: 253
Feb 2015, Sept 2015 both had me rebooting.
The symptoms vary, but generally the most common are that the list of things that can be made gets too small to play.
And now this one also.
Turn 134 before it got too uncomfortable to tolerate.

I do know that there are reasons for the list not to display something. So I went back to an outpost that I had left for many turns and checked it. No colonies available.


This is what it looked like before reboot:

OK, how do I take a paint file into here?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2016 2:20 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 557
When you post a message to the thread, scroll down and there will be a section for attaching a file. Once you add it you can specify whether it should be an inline image.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 4:56 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:58 am
Posts: 253
OK second try to get those pics here.


Last edited by godel on Sun May 15, 2016 5:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 4:59 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:58 am
Posts: 253
OK this should do it:
Attachment:
File comment: Shows one list for building before reboot.
FreeOrion before may 15 no orbatal.png
FreeOrion before may 15 no orbatal.png [ 934.72 KiB | Viewed 514 times ]


Attachments:
FreeOrion before may 15 no orbatal.png
FreeOrion before may 15 no orbatal.png [ 934.72 KiB | Viewed 514 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 9:26 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:58 am
Posts: 253
And this after reboot:
(note the change)
Attachment:
freeorion after may 15 has OI.png
freeorion after may 15 has OI.png [ 982.46 KiB | Viewed 514 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 10:32 am 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 389
In the 'before reboot' shots, you have the Buildings filter unselected (top left of the Producible Items window).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 7:03 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:58 am
Posts: 253
Thanks, I will watch out for that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 7:25 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3310
Yup.

Hint: by turn 114, your homeworld population can be substantially higher, it looks like you've only researched Planetary Ecology, which unlocks Subterranean Habitation and Symbiotic Biology, both cheap techs that increase your numbers (and thus everything else) significantly, and help you open up new environments to populate.

Most players have SubHab as one of their very first techs, I normally get it as my 3rd unlocked.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 8:35 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 557
MatGB wrote:
Most players have SubHab as one of their very first techs, I normally get it as my 3rd unlocked.

What do you put ahead of it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 10:11 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3310
Normally Planetary Ecology (because, y'know, prerequisite and we deliberately made it better relatively recently) and Algorithmic Elegance, the order between them is determined by starting species and where the numbers are most beneficial. After SubHab it's normally Nascent AI but can sometimes be Mass Driver 1, and then normally a decent hull and active radar.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 11:18 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 557
Sure, starting conditions matter. I usually hit Sub Hab, then Adaptive Automation, moving Nascent AI up one position after the prereqs are entered. The games I play aren't too crowded so I don't worry about weapons too early.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group