FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:54 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:14 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
It seems that your system is CPU limited then...

Maybe try tweaking the options settings for number of threads to use for effects processing, in the other tab. Maybe fewer threads is better for you?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 2:48 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 230
Geoff the Medio wrote:
It seems that your system is CPU limited then...

Maybe try tweaking the options settings for number of threads to use for effects processing, in the other tab. Maybe fewer threads is better for you?


All three? Or just some?
There are User Interface, Server and AIs
I set them all to one and will see.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:01 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
EricF wrote:
All three? Or just some?
There are User Interface, Server and AIs
I set them all to one and will see.
Play around with the options and see if anything helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:36 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 230
For the record, I set all three threads to one.
This made things much worse.
Things really slowed to a crawl. 40+ minute turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Try setting each higher separately, or one after the other? Does any one being at 8 help more than the others?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:09 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
As already told more times, your pc is too slow if it is single sore. I also only use a dual core pc (even if it is a stronger dual) and the slow AI-processing occurs with more than 10+ players or as soon as i use a large map where the empires get very big.

The program is able to use 2 core, possibly more. I dont know if its also able to use more-core engine than this. It depends on for what it is made. Possibly a programmer will tell us how many engines maximum free orion is able to use.

I dont think that there is any solution but this:

1) use less large map and less AI's
2) buy a better pc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 4:45 pm 
Offline
Juggernaut

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm
Posts: 759
user0169 wrote:
The program is able to use 2 core, possibly more. I dont know if its also able to use more-core engine than this. It depends on for what it is made. Possibly a programmer will tell us how many engines maximum free orion is able to use.


Not a programmer but each AI has it's own thread. Plus a main thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:23 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
AndrewW wrote:
Not a programmer but each AI has it's own thread. Plus a main thread.
There is also, as mentioned above, a setting in options to control how many threads to use for effects processing in the AI, human client, and server programs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:50 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
Geoff the Medio wrote:
There is also, as mentioned above, a setting in options to control how many threads to use for effects processing in the AI, human client, and server programs.

As far as i understand a 'thread' makes an AI able to use one core of the cpu? That means the program will be able to support any number of cores. ok, thats good.

Fact is that there are three componets which determin how many cores can be used. Hardware, operating system and the used program. In each case the lowest part determins how many cores can be used.

But in the end i dont understand what people are trying in this thread (forum thread). Its obvious that he has an insufficient hardware. No programming effort will ever make a sufficient hardware out of it. Really you keep him busy. He needs another pc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AI is tooooooo slow
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:29 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
user0169 wrote:
But in the end i dont understand what people are trying in this thread (forum thread). Its obvious that he has an insufficient hardware. No programming effort will ever make a sufficient hardware out of it.
Perhaps, but I'm trying to get log files that help diagnose if there is a particular function in the AI or turn processing that is taking up most of the time, which could be optimized, and suggesting tweaking settings to make the problem less bad, without expecting that it will go away entirely.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vezzra and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group