FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:06 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:24 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Vezzra wrote:
EricF wrote:
Is there a way to turn Experimenters off?
IIRC they can only appear if you set monster frequency to medium or high.
Is that true in v0.4.5?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:34 am 
Online
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4294
Location: Sol III
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Vezzra wrote:
EricF wrote:
Is there a way to turn Experimenters off?
IIRC they can only appear if you set monster frequency to medium or high.
Is that true in v0.4.5?
Ah yes, that's a good question. I think that went in the same time we decided to eliminate monsters completely (that is, don't even place the guard monsters) when monsters frequency is set to none. Mat, any idea when we did that...?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:48 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 230
I'm playing FreeOrion_2016-08-16.6a394b5_Test_Win32_Setup.exe

Attachment:
experimenters.JPG
experimenters.JPG [ 118.46 KiB | Viewed 123 times ]


I've just recently captured the Experimentors Homeworld Whitefall I
You will notice the Monsters setting is 'Low'

I would have eliminated all the AI players long ago if it weren't for those pesky Experimentors. :)
Nobody told me Psionic Snowflakes can affect you from adjacent systems. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:06 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Where is the code or script that creates experimentors? I haven't been able to find any references to them other than the species definition, but I'm not sure where else to look.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:20 am 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3291
Monsters, the Experimentor Outpost/Experiment Zero is the main determinant of where they start, and then Buildings for the Outpost that does the heavy lifting once they're placed.

They can/will appear on monsters=low, but not monsters=none. In addition they're unlikely to appear if you have lots of AI homeworlds or starlanes=high due to the limitations on where they can start. Plus their start turn (in buildings) is determined by a large variety of factors, adding in monster density as an extra reduction would be a good approach there.

It would be good I think to try to get there starting setup redone so they're part of galaxy generation and a distinct 'victory condition' option on the game setup screen earlier rather than later in the next Cycle, but it's way beyond my coding ability.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:25 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
MatGB wrote:
Monsters, the Experimentor Outpost/Experiment Zero is the main determinant of where they start, and then Buildings for the Outpost that does the heavy lifting once they're placed.
Huh... for some reason I thought they were already handled by special-case python code in the universe generation scripts.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 12:03 pm 
Online
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4294
Location: Sol III
Geoff the Medio wrote:
MatGB wrote:
Monsters, the Experimentor Outpost/Experiment Zero is the main determinant of where they start, and then Buildings for the Outpost that does the heavy lifting once they're placed.
Huh... for some reason I thought they were already handled by special-case python code in the universe generation scripts.
We've been mentioned this quite a lot, but nothing got done in that department yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:58 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
I would suggest calming down and asking more specific questions rather than ranting. I too suspect that the reason you're losing colonies is that you are placing them on planets that can't sustain them. An early experience I had was taking worlds from AIs, only to have the colonies fail. The AIs had higher growth tech than I did.

You haven't responded to as to whether you know how to check the habitability of planets for specific species.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot, Vezzra and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group