FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:23 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Shield recovery
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:48 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 507
Playing 0.4.6 stable.

It's always seemed like it took ship shields a little while to recover from a molecular cloud. But what are the actual expectations, and does the following seem right?

I had a large fleet of Etty ships, all with robotic shields. Passed through a small molecular cloud, so shields went down of course. The fleet moved well away, but at least three turns after clearing it most ships still don't have shields. However, one has recovered and has the full shielding for the fleet. So a bunch of ships have 0, one has 12. Wouldn't it be with robotic shields that they should all have the same shield level?

Image below. The small cloud above Amzidiske is the one that knocked down the shields. As you can see, the fleet is well away from that and has been for enough turns to invade another world and move from that. The ship display shows the one ship that has shields.

Attachment:
shields.png
shields.png [ 232.54 KiB | Viewed 159 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shield recovery
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:02 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3295
Theoretically one turn both not in the cloud and not in combat should do it for all ships, but agree it doesn't always work like that and I've never reliably replicated it.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Shield recovery
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:50 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 507
Hmm, not in combat. That might be an explanation. I was in mop-up mode, and the fleet was moving out the same turn as troops dropped, on to the next system. I'll keep that in mind.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group