FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:51 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:26 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Posts: 97
Location: Great White North Eh
In the build 2016-10-3, alt-c (to turn on the distance circle) works for the first system that I activate it on, but then will only turn on or off for that system. I am unable to activate it on another system.

_________________
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:00 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Sol III
What happens if you turn it on, and then select another system? Does the circle stay at the system that has been selected when you turned it on, does it disappear or does it move to the newly selected system?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:04 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Posts: 97
Location: Great White North Eh
After testing some more, i have found that;

If I single click on a system and press Alt-c, it works as you would expect. I can then click on another system the circle moves with the system focus and I can turn it on or off.

If I double click on a system and press Alt-c, it turns on and off for that system but cannot be moved to other systems, except;

- if I change the zoom, in which case the circle will jump to the current system but will now be stuck on that system, or

- if I click on a ship, it reverts back to normal, following the system focus.

_________________
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:01 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Sol III
Just tried to reproduce the issue, and found that the problem isn't double-clicking a system, but the production screen (which gets opened when you double-click on a system).

The problem is simply that when the production screen is open, the distance circle gets displayed for the system that has been selected when the production screen has been opened. Even if you open the production screen, then select another system and only after that switch on the distance circle, it gets displayed for the system that has been selected when opening the production screen, not the system that has been selected when switching on the circle.

Once you close the production screen, the distance circle immediately jumps to the selected system.

At least that is how it works on my system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:14 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Sol III
Opened an issue on github: https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/issues/1051


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:48 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Posts: 97
Location: Great White North Eh
Vezzra wrote:
Just tried to reproduce the issue, and found that the problem isn't double-clicking a system, but the production screen (which gets opened when you double-click on a system).

The problem is simply that when the production screen is open, the distance circle gets displayed for the system that has been selected when the production screen has been opened. Even if you open the production screen, then select another system and only after that switch on the distance circle, it gets displayed for the system that has been selected when opening the production screen, not the system that has been selected when switching on the circle.

Once you close the production screen, the distance circle immediately jumps to the selected system.

At least that is how it works on my system.


That makes sense, and matches what I'm seeing.

_________________
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Alt-C broken
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:29 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4303
Location: Sol III
Fix has been merged: 8225f1d.

@UrshMost, the next test builds will already contain the fix, please report back if that solved the issue for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group