FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:19 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:01 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
I didn't think to ask what version you're playing. If the early map doesn't look the one below, then there's not much point in me continuing the experiment.

Attachment:
fom2.png
fom2.png [ 853.61 KiB | Viewed 229 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:08 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
defaultuser wrote:
I had recalled discussing the randomness in the past. I dredged up the thread:

http://www.freeorion.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=9960


This would be anoter trial like mine. I would prefer to have the settings of the game. One thing is that i already tried to use versions on another of my own pc's and it only worked from pc1 to pc2 but not the other way round in spite of been 2 win7 pc's at that time. Also i dont like to add files from a forum to my pc.

...

Another thing of this thread now is this: To discuss about if a topic could work just destroys the topic. The intention of the thread wasnt to find out about if it could work to exchange settings. BUT to to it and see where it leads. its a pity.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 5:12 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
Quote:
I didn't think to ask what version you're playing. If the early map doesn't look the one below, then there's not much point in me continuing the experiment.

I compared it as far as its possible. The map is the same. Even the colors of the opponent AI are the same. Its possible to exchange settings.

We could check out this:

The opponent at 2 o clock position (yellow) is Human
The opponent at 9 o clock position (orange) is Human
The opponent at 6 o clock position (blue) is Gysache
The opponent at 11 o clock position (pink) is Exaw
The Osiris-e is a defended Derthrean.

(just also checkt out the panet names. they are the same)

But at Osiris-a, Osiris-b, and Osiris-t there were some monster-guards?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:55 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
user0169 wrote:
This would be anoter trial like mine. I would prefer to have the settings of the game. One thing is that i already tried to use versions on another of my own pc's and it only worked from pc1 to pc2 but not the other way round in spite of been 2 win7 pc's at that time. Also i dont like to add files from a forum to my pc.

...

Another thing of this thread now is this: To discuss about if a topic could work just destroys the topic. The intention of the thread wasnt to find out about if it could work to exchange settings. BUT to to it and see where it leads. its a pity.

I don't really understand what you're saying.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:56 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
user0169 wrote:
We could check out this:

The opponent at 2 o clock position (yellow) is Human
The opponent at 9 o clock position (orange) is Human
The opponent at 6 o clock position (blue) is Gysache
The opponent at 11 o clock position (pink) is Exaw
The Osiris-e is a defended Derthrean.

That seems to match.

Quote:
But at Osiris-a, Osiris-b, and Osiris-t there were some monster-guards?

At that point, I had not destroyed any monsters other than krill.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 3:39 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
Quote:
Quote:
But at Osiris-a, Osiris-b, and Osiris-t there were some monster-guards?

At that point, I had not destroyed any monsters other than krill.

Ok, at Osiris-a and Osiris-z (not t) there were definately monsterguards. Osiris-b i remembered wrong. I also tried to restart it now and this time at the Osiris-z is no guard.

There are two random elements as far as i see now. One is the monster placement and the other of course the development success of the AI which will be a bit different. Everything else is equal. This altogether would be no reason for me not to replay a settings because the differences are quite small. I would count the maps as compareable.

The map shows another strart:


Attachments:
Current MapTurm2.png
Current MapTurm2.png [ 362.06 KiB | Viewed 194 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:41 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
user0169 wrote:
Ok, at Osiris-a and Osiris-z (not t) there were definately monsterguards. Osiris-b i remembered wrong. I also tried to restart it now and this time at the Osiris-z is no guard.

Based on what Mat said upthread, that's to be expected. Monster placement still has randomness.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 2:24 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
What did you find to be most interesting or challenging about this setup?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:24 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
defaultuser wrote:
What did you find to be most interesting or challenging about this setup?

The most interesting would be to see what others like as ineteresting. The second would be to see what others would say about this setup. Up to now no one does. Did you play it? At what move did you stop it as won? Do you have an alternative proposal show it that others may test it.

I liked it becasue it was a bit more difficult than other setups. The number of planets and party seems balanced to me.

why ..
high starlanes: low number of starlanes makes defending easy.
low planets: low planets at the start makes the development more difficult.
more AI-opponents: higher number of AI-opponent gives more probability that there will rise really strong AI.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 6:36 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 506
I think I stopped at around 190 or so. I had conquered size of the AIs. With the nearby neighbors, it was relatively easy to let a couple establish colonies and then take them away to incorporate into the empire. With the high research from Chato, then troops from Human (initially) and later Eaxaw pilots, the end was in sight.

I find those high lane setups to be "busy". Overall not terribly difficult, but it sounds like I had a somewhat more favorable monster draw.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 5:07 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 am
Posts: 28
Yes, this was obviously just too easy, even more as the monster guards were not at the scheduled places. Here is another one meant for the test-version 0.4.6+. For this the player has to change a part of the 'universe_tables'-file like this

Code:
BASE_STAR_TYPE_DIST = {
    fo.starType.blue: -5,
    fo.starType.white: 0,
    fo.starType.yellow: 0,
    fo.starType.orange: 0,
    fo.starType.red: -5,
    fo.starType.neutron: -5,
    fo.starType.blackHole: -5,
    fo.starType.noStar: 35,
}

# orig      15, 20,25,20, 15,  0, -5,10
# new med   -5,  0, 0, 0, -5, -5,  0,35
# large     -10,-5,-5,-5,-10,-10,-10,50


This does a larger map with less planets per system for this (see pic) setting. Hope so much that the monster guards will be on the scheduled places :mrgreen:

Still i look for some different settings i could replay to test it .....


Attachments:
ModifiedMedium2.png
ModifiedMedium2.png [ 237.91 KiB | Viewed 151 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group