FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:37 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Starlane drive oddity
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:52 am 
Offline
Space Squid

Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 3:42 am
Posts: 51
Playing 0.4.7 60d06dc, Linux(CMake) build.

As you can see in the screenshot, I tried to relocate two planets from system Fehu ε to system Brey α. You'll notice that Fehu ε II didn't move at all (source and target systems being the same) even though the SitRep claims the jump was succesful. Of course, I checked whether the planet did actually move or not (it didn't), there's a beacon on Brey α and none on Fehu ε, and both systems are within range of a lighthouse.

I've moved groups of planets succesfully before, including several times in this game (because, you know, playing Laenfa in an ancient galaxy :lol:), so I wonder if anyone could offer an explanation for this behavior. [EDIT: maybe a #planets per system limit?] Or is it just a bug?

(Side note: I've noticed that when a planet is destroyed in transit, its uncompleted production remains in the production queue - but probably should be removed as well as the planet itself, because what's the point?)


Attachments:
Capture du 2017-06-20 12-04-40.png
Capture du 2017-06-20 12-04-40.png [ 22.18 KiB | Viewed 190 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:59 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4241
Location: Sol III
Jaumito wrote:
maybe a #planets per system limit?
Yes, the number of orbits in a system is limited, so you can't pile planets in a system endlessly. How many planets are in that system (Brey α)?
Quote:
I've noticed that when a planet is destroyed in transit, its uncompleted production remains in the production queue - but probably should be removed as well as the planet itself, because what's the point?
Hm, sounds reasonable. Can you open a github issue for that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline
Space Squid

Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 3:42 am
Posts: 51
Vezzra wrote:
Yes, the number of orbits in a system is limited, so you can't pile planets in a system endlessly. How many planets are in that system (Brey α)?

7 or 8, if memory serves.
Quote:
Jaumito wrote:
I've noticed that when a planet is destroyed in transit, its uncompleted production remains in the production queue - but probably should be removed as well as the planet itself, because what's the point?
Hm, sounds reasonable. Can you open a github issue for that?

Sure, if you tell me how I am supposed to do that first.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 212
Jaumito wrote:
Sure, if you tell me how I am supposed to do that first.
Create an account on github.com.
Go to https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion -> "Issues" tab -> "New Issue" (green button).
Then follow instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 341
I think this is covered by Issue #917 (Confusing sitrep if Planetary Starlane Drive fails).

_________________
Any content posted should be considered licensed GNU GPL 2.0 and/or CC-BY-SA 3.0 as appropriate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:25 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4241
Location: Sol III
Jaumito wrote:
Vezzra wrote:
Yes, the number of orbits in a system is limited, so you can't pile planets in a system endlessly. How many planets are in that system (Brey α)?

7 or 8, if memory serves.
Yup, that's the problem then. The hardcoded max planets per system is 7. If you try to move more planets into a system, then the exact behaviour you observed will happen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:26 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4241
Location: Sol III
dbenage-cx wrote:
I think this is covered by Issue #917 (Confusing sitrep if Planetary Starlane Drive fails).

Ah yes, exactly. Totally forgot about that, although it has been me who opened that issue... ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:46 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:51 pm
Posts: 500
Vezzra wrote:
Jaumito wrote:
Vezzra wrote:
Yes, the number of orbits in a system is limited, so you can't pile planets in a system endlessly. How many planets are in that system (Brey α)?

7 or 8, if memory serves.
Yup, that's the problem then. The hardcoded max planets per system is 7. If you try to move more planets into a system, then the exact behaviour you observed will happen.

Is it really a good idea to hard code things like that? I understand a kind of soft limit should be applied during galaxy generation, but after that... I see no problems with piling up planets (aside from the fact, that the further planets should get almost no light from their star).

_________________
[...] for Man has earned his right to hold this planet against all comers, by virtue of occasionally producing someone totally batshit insane. - Randall Munroe, title text to xkcd #556


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:18 am 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3257
em3 wrote:
I see no problems with piling up planets (aside from the fact, that the further planets should get almost no light from their star).

There is actually: lag. Having done the "pile em high" thing a few times, if you've got a maxed out system with lots of populated planets and effects that apply to those planets in system (eg microgravity mining or even just a gas giant generator) on most machines the game will lag.

If you manage to starlane drive all your planets into one place don't expect the system open, especially production menu, to respond very well on anything but the highest spec machine.

I learnt to play this game on an old netbook, that it doesn't require high end specs is a sales point for me.

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:02 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:51 pm
Posts: 500
Fair enough.

_________________
[...] for Man has earned his right to hold this planet against all comers, by virtue of occasionally producing someone totally batshit insane. - Randall Munroe, title text to xkcd #556


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group