FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:37 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:55 am 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 254
Check out the progression of the items in the building queue in the three images (turns 20, 21 and 22 of a game). BTW, don't look for the starlanes, it's the "Starlanes Everywhere" test mode of Geoff (there are many but not drawn in screen).

The thing is I have 1.16 PPs to dedicate to the shipyard in my first colony (10.5-9.33 from the human colony being built in my first outposted planet), and that is what the GUI is reporting me. Though hitting next turn won't show any progress in the shipyard when changing from turn 21 to 24 (i.e. it got PPs at the start of turns 21 and not again until the start of turn 25, that is when the human colony finishes), and nothing is being put into the IS so I really don't know where those 4 PPs have been put. There is another item in the list after the shipyard, an outpost ship being built at Miranda, but it gets no PPs instead of the shipyard, the PPs just banish.

So I have a few questions:


May I assume some monster I can't see is blockading Gamab gamma?

Should I suffer losses in supply chain when I can't see any problem with the supply chains?

If I suffer them anyway, should I be able to store into the IS what couldn't be delivered in time?

Have I found a bug?

I also attach the save file for that game on turn 20. I've loaded three times in different sessions and always do the same.


Attachments:
FreeOrion_Oberlus_Foundation_0020_20171130_000607.sav [649.25 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times
turn22.png
turn22.png [ 197.24 KiB | Viewed 105 times ]
turn21.png
turn21.png [ 198.81 KiB | Viewed 105 times ]
turn20.png
turn20.png [ 196.9 KiB | Viewed 105 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:23 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4296
Location: Sol III
Hm, that indeed looks buggy to me... can you create an issue on github? Although there is a good chance that the "Starlanes everywhere" game option might be the cause for supply propagation not working as intended.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:11 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3291
Oberlus wrote:
May I assume some monster I can't see is blockading Gamab gamma?

Probably, if it's only turn 20 there shouldn't be any that can (I was told to take them out until later :-( )—I'm on my laptop so can't load the savegame to check, try loading from the autosave the previous turn and put Super Testers on, it's one of the things they're there for.
Quote:
Should I suffer losses in supply chain when I can't see any problem with the supply chains?

Yes, absolutely, stealthed stuff causes disruption you can't explain. I, personally, dislike even the very idea of starlanes everywhere so have never even tested with it, it will reduce visual clues for you which is a problem.
Quote:
If I suffer them anyway, should I be able to store into the IS what couldn't be delivered in time?

Yes, that was part of the specific intent was it not, store stuff for later use? Plus, smuggling: we need a 'smugglers' tech to improve stockpile usage in blockaded systems ;-)

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:26 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
MatGB wrote:
...try loading from the autosave the previous turn and put Super Testers on, it's one of the things they're there for.
The game has super testers disabled.

I'm wondering if there's a discrepancy in the costs of human colonies between the client and server... I can't make sense of the production queue logs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 254
I've had no time to play FO since this. I'll try it again once I get back to my PC. I'm planning to restart the same game (same settings and seed) with and without Super Testers enabled, and with and without Starlanes Everywhere (maybe change starlanes density to high for the regular mode), do exactly the same things when possible (I'll study first my autosaves of the original game) then post the logs if the situation arises again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group