FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:23 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:42 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:39 pm
Posts: 1
Seriously. This is EA levels of DRM bullshit. And FreeOrion is free. I'm sure there's a post in information somewhere that 'X server is down, but it'll be up in like an hour because someone dun goofed', but seriously. EA levels of DRM bullshit.

/end rant


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:32 pm 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
I get that error occasionally, and i'm not sure what causes it.

But it's not what you think. When you are playing single-player, i believe, the "server" is running on your computer too. It's just a difference process that handles the same sort of stuff that the server would if you were playing multi-player.

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:51 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
In single player, the server does indeed run in a separate process on the same computer. Each AI player also has its own process. Interprocess communication is used to transfer information between the client and server, which sometimes fails to set itself up correctly. Usually trying again, or quitting and restarting the program, will get it to work. No information is sent over a network, and no connection to the internet is required to play FreeOrion single player, although your firewall might complain if it thinks connecting to localhost involves internet access.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:58 am 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
In my experience, just trying again-- without quitting the program-- almost always works the second time.

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 3:22 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:13 am
Posts: 7
I am having the same problem, tried what you guys said several times, any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:35 am 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:24 pm
Posts: 13
eleazar wrote:
In my experience, just trying again-- without quitting the program-- almost always works the second time.

In my experience, trying again and again and again, never works. Ever.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:32 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Panpiper wrote:
In my experience, trying again and again and again, never works. Ever.
Do you mean in general, or for this issue? In specific case of infrequent (on a particular computer) errors about being unable to contact the server when starting a single player FreeOrion game, it does work quite often.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:33 pm 
Offline
Space Floater
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 9:15 pm
Posts: 23
I had this problem a few times on my old, slow Vista machine
Doesn't happen on my faster, newer Win7 laptop
I wonder whether one process times out waiting for another to start, or something?

_________________
--Steaker--


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group