Just discovered FreeOrion,

Talk about anything and everything related or unrelated to the FreeOrion project, especially Strategy Games.

Moderator: Oberlus

Isengrim
Space Floater

Just discovered FreeOrion,

#1 Post by Isengrim »

I just started playing FO and wanted to thank you guys, its one of the best tbs games ive played in a while.

Vezzra
Release Manager, Design

Re: Just discovered FreeOrion,

#2 Post by Vezzra »

Thanks! :D

And welcome ;)

Isengrim
Space Floater

#3 Post by Isengrim »

Is there still a need for 3d models?I would enjoy contributing if there's room.

Vezzra
Release Manager, Design

#4 Post by Vezzra »

Isengrim wrote:Is there still a need for 3d models?I would enjoy contributing if there's room.
That depends on what you mean by "a need for 3D models". Currently it looks like our plans for tactical 3D combat will be dropped - we just don't have the resources/manpower to implement a decent 3D tactical combat engine. So, there will probably be no need for 3D models for that use case.

However, we still use large ship hull graphics (see here) on the design screen and smaller versions (see here) as icons for these ship hulls in the fleet window. Those graphics are usually renderings of 3D models made e.g. with Blender. Take a look at the current graphics, you'll see there are still a lot of them which aren't of particular high quality. You're certainly welcome to provide replacements for our low quality placeholder graphics. :D

The Graphics forum is the place you want to go to, there is even a recent thread about new ship hull graphics.

Isengrim
Space Floater

#5 Post by Isengrim »

Thank you, one more question:what is the rules/etiquette for posting in threads that haven't been posted in for a while?

Vezzra
Release Manager, Design

#6 Post by Vezzra »

Isengrim wrote:Thank you, one more question:what is the rules/etiquette for posting in threads that haven't been posted in for a while?
Define "for a while" ;)