FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 278 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 9:02 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
So, a little more on the "fullscreen" issue using multiple monitors and SRWE.
It works perfectly fine, indeed it is fantastic with my multiple monitors. The downside is only that I have to set my subwindow positions every time I start a session. I will check more options within SRWE to try and solve this but I have not much hope for it as is now. Windowed mode works ok with my persistent_config.xml.

FO looks brilliant and performs brilliant once I have setup the session.

Now over to a totally different question. I have as a beginner used the Game Graphs extensively. Especially the Rough Estimate of Total Military Strength curve along with Research and Production output. This is crucial information that I have access to but should not know until I have researched certain technologies, right? A combination of scanning techs, scout outreach and diplomacy should provide this info I guess? Are there any plans to restrict this info?

What are the plans of the Game Graphs features, any filtering depending on tech?

Also, if I choose to host a multiplayer session, does it allow for friendlies (co-op) to beat AI?

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 10:18 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm
Posts: 3289
Graphs are planned to be gated in some way at some point, but I use them fairly heavily when testing new features, including some of my own bespoke tests sometimes, so the gating isn't going to happen for awhile in development, last we discussed it we wanted to do it at the same time we did espionage based stuff, which will be after diplomacy is actually setup properly.

Re alliances, the current "Victory" conditions are relatively simplistic in their approach and I don't think we allow for alliance victory, however given we barely have any diplomacy features that's not really a surprise. I think it's something we ought to make sure is included as/when we have proper diplomacy. But until we do, well, not implemented ;-)

Our current "main features" roadmap/plan is roughly:
0.4.7: Fighters (you can play with this now but it's buggy)
0.5.0: Influence (you need to be able to compile to even try this and it doesn't work and the AI will just die)
0.5.1: Not fully decided, but diplomacy will come after Influence at some point

_________________
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:54 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
Good to hear that the graphs will be gated somehow. Based on espionage and diplomacy - sounds very good.
It is also a very good tool for beginners (like me) so it might have to go into session option to have it fully visible or not.

Perhaps there are plans to make it partially visible depending on your empires range (circles).

Also, how do I filter my object list to show only my Troop ships? I could not find the easy way.

Best regards,
Broms

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:10 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
Enjoying the new updates!
...and just realized (after some browsing thru the game-folder) that I could not find anywhere to control/change the "center on object" screen coordinates?
The reason I'm looking to change the "highlighting/centering"-coordinates is that I play with 2 identical monitors and when (in wiki/object list) I hit the link and the object ends up in the center of the screen - in my case; just in the middle between my 2 monitors. So, the question; is there a way to set those "centering on object"-coordinates manually?

Thanks for any comments, cheers,
Broms

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:18 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12040
Location: Munich
Bromstarzan wrote:
...is there a way to set those "centering on object"-coordinates manually?
Not without editing the C++ source code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:26 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
Thanks Geoff!
That's what I was thinking, now I know. :D

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:35 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12040
Location: Munich
Bromstarzan wrote:
That's what I was thinking, now I know. :D
If you can compile, have a look at MapWnd::CenterOnMapCoord. Adding an offset to the position based on the window size shouldn't be too difficult, nor would adding an option to store / set that offset.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:58 am 
Offline
Dyson Forest
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Sweden
That's right, for my particular setup it seems it would be perfect to just change 2 to 3 (or 4) for the ul.x:
GG::X_d current_x = (AppWidth() / 2 - ul.x) / ZoomFactor();
GG::Y_d current_y = (AppHeight() / 2 - ul.y) / ZoomFactor();

But I don't have (anymore) the tools/knowledge to compile.
I'll just keep this in mind and if I set up a compiler I'll get back to it.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

_________________
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 278 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group