SVN Update - repo changed url?

Discussion about the project in general, organization, website, or any other details that aren't directly about the game.
Message
Author
User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#16 Post by Geoff the Medio »

That various accounts or projects on sites like github, ohloh, or freecode exist doesn't mean Tyreth, I, or anyone else ever actively involved with development set them up.

The twitter and youtube accounts were set up by FreeOrion people, and several others besides me have access to them, including you (Vezzra).

Regarding what if I disappear, contacting Tyreth would probably be sufficient to help take over all the relevant accounts. For the forum, sourceforge project, and wiki, it's a matter of adding new administrator privileges, not knowing single account passwords, as there are multiple admin-enabled accounts possible.

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#17 Post by eleazar »

I'm a little late to the svn switching party, and i'm having trouble making it work. Apparently i don't have a version new enough for "svn relocate".
As best as i can understand, this is what i should enter:

Code: Select all

svn switch --relocate https://freeorion.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/freeorion/trunk/FreeOrion "svn+ssh://[email protected]/p/freeorion/code/"
But it complains, and doesn't work:

Code: Select all

svn: Relocate can only change the repository part of an URL
Help?

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#18 Post by AndrewW »

That's ok, didn't work for me either back when I tried. I just started over with the new repository.

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead and Programmer Emeritus
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#19 Post by Dilvish »

eleazar wrote:I'm a little late to the svn switching party, and i'm having trouble making it work. Apparently i don't have a version new enough for "svn relocate".
As best as i can understand, this is what i should enter:

Code: Select all

svn switch --relocate https://freeorion.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/freeorion/trunk/FreeOrion "svn+ssh://[email protected]/p/freeorion/code/"
But it complains, and doesn't work:

Code: Select all

svn: Relocate can only change the repository part of an URL
Help?
I think I ran into something like that when I switched. Try some combo of dropping "/FreeOrion" or "/trunk/FreeOrion" from the first URL, and/or adding "/trunk" or "/trunk/FreeOrion" to the second (I'm pretty sure it's just removing one or both of those last two parts of the first URL that will work).
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 6095
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#20 Post by Vezzra »

eleazar wrote:Help?
Forget about the "svn+ssh://" part, it's actually not necessary to do it that way and still possible to work with "https://". This is the URL I use now:

Code: Select all

https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeorion/code/trunk
So, in your case, the relocate command should look like this I think:

Code: Select all

svn switch --relocate https://freeorion.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/freeorion/trunk/FreeOrion https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeorion/code/trunk/FreeOrion"

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#21 Post by eleazar »

Vezzra wrote:So, in your case, the relocate command should look like this I think:

Code: Select all

svn switch --relocate https://freeorion.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/freeorion/trunk/FreeOrion https://svn.code.sf.net/p/freeorion/code/trunk/FreeOrion"
Thanks, that worked with the terminal " removed.

User avatar
Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: Orion

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#22 Post by Bigjoe5 »

Seems like I can't commit anything to svn:

Code: Select all

svn: E175013: Commit failed (details follow):
svn: E175013: Access to '/p/freeorion/code/!svn/me' forbidden
Any info on this?

I'm almost certain I've committed something since the switch though... I'll double check, to be sure.
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

User avatar
adrian_broher
Programmer
Posts: 1156
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#23 Post by adrian_broher »

https://sourceforge.net/p/forge/site-support/3303/
as for problems committing, I suspect you're using a read-only protocol like svn:// or http://. For read/write, you should use svn+ssh:// or https://, though we've been observing some issues with https writes recently, so svn+ssh:// would be better.
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 13587
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#24 Post by Geoff the Medio »

Bigjoe5 wrote:I'm almost certain I've committed something since the switch though...
Most recent one by you I see was [r6130] on 2013-06-08.

User avatar
Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: Orion

Re: SVN Update - repo changed url?

#25 Post by Bigjoe5 »

adrian_broher wrote:https://sourceforge.net/p/forge/site-support/3303/
as for problems committing, I suspect you're using a read-only protocol like svn:// or http://. For read/write, you should use svn+ssh:// or https://, though we've been observing some issues with https writes recently, so svn+ssh:// would be better.
Thanks, switching to https did the trick.
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

Post Reply