FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:49 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 264
So i think i have now a design for the third iteration:
* just use the global LIMIT for input and for output
* the empire contributes overproduction up to the LIMIT to the stockpile. Excess overproduction is wasted.
* for calculating this limit, all planets contribute differently based on the _STOCKPILE species trait
* e.g. a GREAT_STOCKPILE species adds up to 0.75 PP to the limit per population
* only planets with industry or supply focus contribute
* in order to keep the slow rise and fall of meters, the stockpile limit gets multiplied by industry efficiency (local production divided by target-production)

For balancing
* nerf the technologies
* adding the GREAT_STOCKPILE species SP_SLY
* making the SP_LAENFA GOOD_STOCKPILE

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:50 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12082
Location: Munich
Ophiuchus wrote:
* for calculating this limit, all planets contribute differently based on the _STOCKPILE species trait
* e.g. a GREAT_STOCKPILE species adds up to 0.75 PP to the limit per population
* only planets with industry or supply focus contribute
Sounds like there should be a "Stockpile" meter for planets (and perhaps ships), which determines how much they increase their empire's stockpile in/out transfer limit, and possibly a "Stockpiling" planet focus. I wouldn't call it "Supply" focus, as there is already a supply meter which determines how far supply networks extend. Having it be a planet/ship meter means lots of other content can interact with it if desired, like having a planet or ship in a black hole system be good for boosting the empire stockpile transfer limit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:47 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 264
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:
* for calculating this limit, all planets contribute differently based on the _STOCKPILE species trait
* e.g. a GREAT_STOCKPILE species adds up to 0.75 PP to the limit per population
* only planets with industry or supply focus contribute
Sounds like there should be a "Stockpile" meter for planets (and perhaps ships), which determines how much they increase their empire's stockpile in/out transfer limit, and possibly a "Stockpiling" planet focus. I wouldn't call it "Supply" focus, as there is already a supply meter which determines how far supply networks extend. Having it be a planet/ship meter means lots of other content can interact with it if desired, like having a planet or ship in a black hole system be good for boosting the empire stockpile transfer limit.

Yes, i do agree. If we keep this design, we probably should give this own stockpileLimit and targetStockpileLimit meters instead of making it depending on the industry and targetIndustry meters.

For playtesting though this isnt really necessary. The code in the pull request is ready for collecting feedback I think.
Had a go at it with Laenfa until midgame and the stockpile helped. And I actually needed to research some of the techs for the extra boost. So balance is probably not too badly off. UI needs improvement and I have some concerns about micromanagement, but i think these are resolvable.
https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/pull/1928.

I added the necessary info for this round to the _LIMIT entry in the encyclopedia, so should be helpful.

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:38 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 264
Feedback thread for round 3

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:14 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 264
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:
i want a quantitative waste indicator in the main screen (with the ratio you had one indirectly)
Can you make a mockup illustrating what you want?

Best I think would be actually to see how many PP get wasted. So instead of or complementary to the waste indicator the number written in red.

With the ratio it was like: ok, i have a ratio of 20% and the top row reads that I transfer 20PP to the stockpile. So i know i waste 80PP.

Geoff the Medio wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:
Quote:
we need to do something about filling the stockpile up easily. E.g. change the UI to do this or use a stockpile limit (of about 5 times the limit) and remove the input limits)
Not clear what this means.

Problem:
If you want to use stockpile PP, you first have to put them there. At the moment you have to juggle your production so that you get excess to fill the stockpile but not much waste. This involves pausing/unpausing production items.

Some options I thought of:
* somehow explicitely specify how much you want to put into the stockpile
** add something like a pseudo-ship to the production queue (base cost 1PP, 1 turn; you can specify how many you want and how often using the controls for ship build items); this shouldnt create a ship though;
** it would be good if you see if you specify more than the input limit; best would be if it would be figured into the next turn stats
** Needs some fiddling with the build queue, good control of amounts

* somehow specify priorities of building
** e.g. items with low priority do not get PP until the stockpile input limit is full.
** For ways to specify priorities see UI Separators; complicated situation but easy to use UI
** Probably UI is hard to implement and needs some fiddling with the production queue

* remove the input limit
** no juggling necessary, dead easy to implement, KISS

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:07 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12082
Location: Munich
Ophiuchus wrote:
Best I think would be actually to see how many PP get wasted. So instead of or complementary to the waste indicator the number written in red.
I think the waste indicator being present or not is indication enough. The waste is a secondary statistic, not as important as the amounts and outputs of resources. There's only so much space in the GUI to show more numbers.
Attachment:
File comment: wasted PP tooltip
wasted.png
wasted.png [ 33.38 KiB | Viewed 37 times ]


Quote:
If you want to use stockpile PP, you first have to put them there. At the moment you have to juggle your production so that you get excess to fill the stockpile but not much waste. This involves pausing/unpausing production items.

* remove the input limit
** no juggling necessary, dead easy to implement, KISS
I'm inclined to try the no-input-limit approach first, and if that doesn't work, then a "stockpile" project on the production queue with adjustable cost / amount per turn. If there's no input limit, then I suspect an input efficiency will again be needed, though...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:11 am 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 264
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:
Best I think would be actually to see how many PP get wasted. So instead of or complementary to the waste indicator the number written in red.
I think the waste indicator being present or not is indication enough. The waste is a secondary statistic, not as important as the amounts and outputs of resources. There's only so much space in the GUI to show more numbers.

The thing is - you dont want to check every turn the top bar for waste. Better explanation of why I want this and how it worked with the input ratio: Imperial stockpile diff is good to see what you are wasting

As stockpile is based on excess, in many of the stockpile designs there is something like "accepted waste". So for those designs the problem of waste management is much more pronounced.
* Discussion of UI alternatives with dilvish which stopped because we removed the stockpile total limit: Imperial Stockpile -Indicate how much PP is wasted (%-based)


Geoff the Medio wrote:
Quote:
If you want to use stockpile PP, you first have to put them there. At the moment you have to juggle your production so that you get excess to fill the stockpile but not much waste. This involves pausing/unpausing production items.

* remove the input limit
** no juggling necessary, dead easy to implement, KISS
I'm inclined to try the no-input-limit approach first, and if that doesn't work, then a "stockpile" project on the production queue with adjustable cost / amount per turn. If there's no input limit, then I suspect an input efficiency will again be needed, though...

There are also approaches of high input limits or instead reintroducing a stockpile total limit; those would not solve the indicator problem, but make the problem occur less often.

We could also disconnect the stockpile from excess. I.e. stockpile input is independent from normal production, you dont transfer parts of excess, but directly "produce" stockpile PP. This would make the stockpile also waste-independent. I think that would also be very KISS.
This "stockpile-production" intrigues me the more I think of it. It probably redefines what those stockpile points are, they become more of a second "premium" type of production points than a way to store PP. We know very well what such production points are and how buildings and effects work on that, so balancing probably gets easier. On the other hand maybe its almost like production points just with a empire-wide supply network, so maybe the "stockpile-production" is more boring because its similar?

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group