FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Stockpile ratio vs waste ratio poll
Stockpile ratio 100%  100%  [ 4 ]
Waste ratio 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 218
Before imperial stockpile, overproduction went simply to waste. Now a certain part goes to the stockpile, the other part still goes to waste.

I'd like to ask for community feedback which way we should present it.

Stockpile ratio or waste ratio?
So 20% stockpile ratio means 80% waste ratio.

Also suggestions for better naming are very appreciated.

Edit 1: added a picture as suggested by dilvish.
The picture shows the waste tooltip with the following entries.
  • Total Production 14.4 (production capacity as usual)
  • Overproduction 14.4 (unused PP, not building anything)
  • Stockpile Import Ratio 0.20 (thats what I'm talking about. The other option would be to write here: Waste Ratio 0.80)
  • Transfer to Stockpile 2.89 (thats 0.2 * 14.4)
  • Wasted Production 11.5 (thats 0.8 * 14.4)


Attachments:
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__excess.png
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__excess.png [ 52.2 KiB | Viewed 159 times ]
File comment: Stockpile Import Ratio
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__focussed.png
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__focussed.png [ 47.27 KiB | Viewed 171 times ]

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Last edited by Ophiuchus on Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:17 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:54 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4390
I think it would help a lot to see a screenshot of each of these being used.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:18 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 218
Dilvish wrote:
I think it would help a lot to see a screenshot of each of these being used.

Hope these help

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:45 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4390
Ophiuchus wrote:
Hope these help
Yes, they do, they make the issue tremendously more clear for me. Of course, that's also partly since the actual options you are showing are more complex phrases than what you had originally asked us to vote on. I really don't like either of the plain options "Stockpile Ratio" or "Waste Ratio".

I do like "Stockpile Import Ratio" fine, and for whatever reason it seems very preferable to me over "Excess Waste Ratio".

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:09 am 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
Thank you for example images, of the two prefer Stockpile Import Ratio.

If represented by a decimal, I think (x Ratio) might be a confusing label. IMO, Ratios are more clearly represented in the form 1:5
Could replace Ratio with Rate or Efficiency, preferably formatted as a percentage if trivially possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:11 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
dbenage-cx wrote:
IMO, Ratios are more clearly represented in the form 1:5
That would be unnecessarily confusing. It's a multiplicative conversion factor, not a probabilistic ratio or odds.
Quote:
Could replace Ratio with Rate or Efficiency, preferably formatted as a percentage if trivially possible.
Agreed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:37 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 250
Stockpile import efficiency.
Maybe a bit too long? That matters more the smaller the screen is.
So I would go for "Stockpile import" or "Stockpile efficiency".


Last edited by Oberlus on Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:09 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12041
Location: Munich
Oberlus wrote:
Stockpile import efficiency.
Maybe a bit too long? That matters mothe the smaller the screen is.
Try the longer / clearer name first; it can be adjusted later if needed.

Or perhaps "Stockpiling Effic.", and "To Stockpile" or "Stockpiled" isntead of "Transfer to Stockpile"

And perhaps add some gaps to emphasize that the efficiency is most closely related to the a amount being stockpiled.


Attachments:
File comment: Layout Tweaked
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__focussed_tweak.png
20170910__stockpile__waste_info__focussed_tweak.png [ 44.99 KiB | Viewed 109 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:05 pm 
Offline
Creative Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 6:52 pm
Posts: 1396
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Oberlus wrote:
Stockpile import efficiency.
Maybe a bit too long? That matters mothe the smaller the screen is.
Try the longer / clearer name first; it can be adjusted later if needed.

Or perhaps "Stockpiling Effic.", and "To Stockpile" or "Stockpiled" isntead of "Transfer to Stockpile"

And perhaps add some gaps to emphasize that the efficiency is most closely related to the a amount being stockpiled.


Maybe just "% Stockpiled" and "To Stockpile"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:19 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 218
Thanks for the feedback, i will use it for the next commit and post a picture here.

And it seems nobody prefers the Waste Ratio so we will have some version of "Stockpile Efficiency".

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline
Dyson Forest

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 218
Current iteration.
Its now the stockpile efficiency in percent.

I would like to add PP as unit to the other entries but i couldnt figure out how to make the BrowseWnd wider, so if i use PP it wraps to the next line.


Attachments:
20170916__stockpile__waste_info__perc.png
20170916__stockpile__waste_info__perc.png [ 54.93 KiB | Viewed 68 times ]

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:45 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4390
Ophiuchus wrote:
I would like to add PP as unit to the other entries but i couldnt figure out how to make the BrowseWnd wider, so if i use PP it wraps to the next line.


TextBrowseWnd has a default width of 200, but it looks to me like you can just add a bigger width as a final parameter when you make the one for m_industry_wasted.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group