FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:16 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:33 pm 
Offline
Psionic Snowflake

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 488
Starting from an idea from @alleryn, that en/disabling of stockpile use is clunky and the stockpile using items should be on top of the production queue.

Right now also one use case is really badly supported:
* Refilling stockpile - i need to set most of my production to paused in order to refill it

I think it introducing separators to split the production queue in three parts (stockpile enabled, normal production, paused) would help minimizing micromanagement in combination with imperial stockpile.

What i mean is having two separators you can move around in the production queue similar to production queue entries.
Everything above the top separators gets stockpile use enabled, everything below the lower one gets paused.
This could also be additional to the current right-click en/disable mechanism.

If we dont want something like the separators we should add some support for refilling the stockpile. E.g. a menu option "Pause/unpause all queue items below this one". Or a 1-turn production item "10 PP effort to stockpile" (although I'm not sure if one can do this with the current mechanisms without adding a one turn delay).

p.s.:
Useful historical reading: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=10810&p=90852#p90841

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:51 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 610
After thinking about it I really like the idea of the separator (with the second one for paused production I like it even more). It is a powerful yet simple way to manage production queue and stockpile.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:51 am 
Offline
Psionic Snowflake

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Posts: 488
With geoffs suggestion for round four of stockpile this could be simplified to

Normal prio: enabled to draw from stockpile. if you add new production items, they end up at the end of these
Low prio: not enabled to draw from stockpile. (e.g. if you want to refill the stockpile)
No prio: paused

_________________
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group