FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 10:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:20 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 4
Interested in getting involved in the project, I downloaded and attempted to run 3.13rev3094. I'm running OSX 10.4, and I saw the note about needing to download more than one thing from sourceforge, which I thought I did: One that was the application and then one that seemed to just be a data folder.

Anyway, it starts up fine but then if I try to start a game (of any sort) it shows the loading screen and just stays there indefinitely. Or 30+ min anyway, I usually force quit at that point.

So if you guys have any suggestions, I would really appreciate the help, I'd like to see where things are at!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:54 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, and De Facto Lead
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 10001
Location: Munich
Which note about downloading more than one thing are you referring to? I didn't make the OSX download so I'm not familiar with how one installs it, but I would have thought you'd just need the one file for v0.3.13 that's on sourceforge...

Regardless, to help diagnose your problem, could you please locate the folder

Username/Library/Application Support/FreeOrion/

and reply with the .log files in that folder attached, preferably zipped.

Also, make sure you don't have any weird firewall issues that would interpret interprocess communication that freeorion uses as attempts to access the internet. This is usually on an issue on windows, but it could possibly be relevant to OSX, so I thought I should mention it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:24 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 4
Here's the logs.

Yeah it looks like the two things is just for the source i.e. the code and the art/sound are in different downloads, so never mind about that.

As for the firewall issue, it's not showing up on the log so if it is getting blocked it's something more obscure....


Attachments:
FOlogs.zip [4.33 KiB]
Downloaded 21 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:29 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, and De Facto Lead
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 10001
Location: Munich
From your logs, it looks like you went into the multiplayer setup screen, then exited without trying to start a game. Could you run freeorion, try to start a single player game with one AI and a 10 star galaxy, and post the resulting logs after that? No need to let it sit for more than a minute at "Generating Universe and AIs", which I assume is what you mean by "loading screen", so kill the process if it hangs there too long.

Or am I not understanding your problem...?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:38 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 4
Sorry, didn't realize that was that was the last thing I did.....

But yeah "Generating galaxy and AIs" is what I meant by loading screen, though those are clearly not the same.

Another issue I'm having, the mouse cursor only seems to move if I hold down the lmb, which makes selecting the desired options.... interesting... is that something you know anything about, or should I bring that over to the OSX version dev thread?


Attachments:
Archive.zip [3.98 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:09 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, and De Facto Lead
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 10001
Location: Munich
Are there no AI log files from after running the test? (If so, please post them as well). I'm guessing they aren't there though, since the server seems to be stuck waiting for players to join, and I'm guessing its due to problems with the AI not starting properly. I'm not sure why that would be...

Could you also try starting a game with no AI players?

I don't think I've heard about the cursor not moving except when holding the left mouse button before...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:34 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:08 pm
Posts: 4
Not having any AI seemed to 'solve' the problem, and it started up without any trouble, and I played through a couple turns without incident. Of course, you can't really play it without AI but at least it works.... also the mouse issue seems a little more nuanced (and annoying). I'll take this over to the mac dev forum though. Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:24 am 
Offline
Space Squid
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:54 pm
Posts: 76
Sorry to say that I can't reproduce either problems myself.

The mouse focus issue is similar to an old bug in OGRE specifically under the Carbon framework and inside fullscreen. It was resolved by switching to Cocoa, but maybe it's still work asking: are you running the game in fullscreen?

I agree that the infinite loop on new game creation is due to the AI client not starting. Error logs for the AI client actually seem to be placed in the root directory of the filesystem named like:

AI_1error.txt
AI_2error.txt
AI_3error.txt

Do you have those?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:27 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, and De Facto Lead
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 10001
Location: Munich
The left mouse button issue seems to be the same as discussed here:
http://www.wreckedgames.com/forum/index ... ml#msg5821


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:42 pm 
Offline
Space Squid
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:54 pm
Posts: 76
Geoff the Medio wrote:
The left mouse button issue seems to be the same as discussed here:
http://www.wreckedgames.com/forum/index ... ml#msg5821


The last poster in that thread has a more specific description in the OGRE forums:
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=48056

nutwing's issue is the same if both
1) He was running in fullscreen.
2) FreeOrion was running as a Carbon application.

We don't know if #1 is true yet, but #2 should be false. FreeOrion starts as a Cocoa application (the purpose of chmain.mm).

The switch from Carbon to Cocoa fixed this problem for me on OS X 10.5. It's a guess that maybe there's a different bug w/ OGRE/Cocoa in 10.4. The one OGRE team member did say he saw "weird things" with Cocoa in fullscreen, which isn't reassuring.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group