FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:05 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 14
I'm trying to make some buttons to sort the sidepanel planets by Population, Farming, etc. and I have an idea how to do it, but because it changes the interface I thought I should consult with others about the position of the buttons in the sidepanel. Please give your opinion in the replies. Also, if this is already in progress somewhere else or has been done already, let me know.

EDIT So far, all new code is in the SidePanel.cpp

_________________
Ilija Anastasijević - iksi99


Last edited by iksi99 on Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:31 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12004
Location: Munich
Something like this, with droplists to select a sorting method, and a better-centred resource summary...


Attachments:
File comment: Current Layout (left) and Mockup (right)
SidePanel_Sort_Show.png
SidePanel_Sort_Show.png [ 114.5 KiB | Viewed 540 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:00 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 14
Geoff the Medio wrote:
Something like this, with droplists to select a sorting method, and a better-centred resource summary...

OK, will do.

_________________
Ilija Anastasijević - iksi99


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:14 pm 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
I'm not sure sorting is desirable in the side panel. It is a very short list, so sorting adds little, and destroys the spatial recognition part.

We definitely need a sortable planet list, but IMHO it should be for all known planets, not just the ones in a single system.

Filtering the sidepanel, maybe by "All", "Yours", and "Inhabited" might be useful in the side panel, maybe reducing the filtered-out planets to a minimized view.

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:30 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12004
Location: Munich
eleazar wrote:
I'm not sure sorting is desirable in the side panel. It is a very short list, so sorting adds little, and destroys the spatial recognition part.
Whether filtering / collapsing some, or sorting, is better, I'm not sure, but I vaguely recall sorting being requested a few times... But some sort of display adjustment on the list would be good, as it's annoying to have to scroll down to the single populated planet in a system with 8 or so planets.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:08 pm 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
Geoff the Medio wrote:
...But some sort of display adjustment on the list would be good, as it's annoying to have to scroll down to the single populated planet in a system with 8 or so planets.

Ah, that's a very legitimate complaint. I'd forgotten about that with my nice big screen.

But if that is the core issue, i think it would best be solved by making the sidebar remember its scroll position for each system. It is always nice to find things where you left them.

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:20 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12004
Location: Munich
eleazar wrote:
But if that is the core issue, i think it would best be solved by making the sidebar remember its scroll position for each system. It is always nice to find things where you left them.
It's also easy to miss a planet that's scroll off when looking through systems that haven't previously been scrolled through. Having sorting or hiding options so the important ones are on the top / less important ones shrunk would avoid this and be more usable.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:34 pm 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
Geoff the Medio wrote:
eleazar wrote:
But if that is the core issue, i think it would best be solved by making the sidebar remember its scroll position for each system. It is always nice to find things where you left them.
It's also easy to miss a planet that's scroll off when looking through systems that haven't previously been scrolled through. Having sorting or hiding options so the important ones are on the top / less important ones shrunk would avoid this and be more usable.

By what criterion can you sort/hide planets that won't increase the incidence of not seeing planets you would probably wish you had seen? A player too lazy to scroll down the list is not going to change his filter mode frequently enough to avoid missing even more significant planets.

For the issue of it sometimes being non-obvious that there are more planets off the screen, the direct solution is to increase the visibility of the scrollbar, such as pictured here:
Image


As for a compressed sidebar to take up less space and help you focus on more relevant planets, i present this concepts. (i forgot to do the control buttons).
Basically, i imagine you could toggle between minimizing "None", "Uninhabited", or "Not Yours". It would also be nice for instance on the production screen, where planets that you can't build anything on could automatically all be minimized.

EDIT: FYI, in this example, the compressed planets take up 50% as much vertical space.
Attachment:
compressed sidebar.png
compressed sidebar.png [ 231.87 KiB | Viewed 522 times ]

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline
Space Dragon

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm
Posts: 429
Like the compressed sidebar. Brilliant!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:27 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 14
I think the best solution is to implement a bit of everything. Agreed?

_________________
Ilija Anastasijević - iksi99


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:41 am 
Offline
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 3858
Location: USA — midwest
iksi99 wrote:
I think the best solution is to implement a bit of everything. Agreed?

That's too vague to agree with.

What problem specifically are you trying to address?

_________________
—• Read this First before posting Game Design Ideas!
—• Design Philosophy

—•— My Ideas, Organized —•— Get an Avatar —•— Acronyms —•—


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 2:16 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 14
eleazar wrote:
iksi99 wrote:
I think the best solution is to implement a bit of everything. Agreed?

That's too vague to agree with.

What problem specifically are you trying to address?


Well, some form of sorting and/or filtering was requested on the tracker page on Sourceforge. So, it's a feature request.

_________________
Ilija Anastasijević - iksi99


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:21 pm 
Offline
Krill Swarm

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:47 pm
Posts: 14
I think I'll start working tomorrow. It'll be a droplist used for filtering. Also, can someone tell me how does the PlanetPanelContainer sort planets? I can't find the code anywhere!

_________________
Ilija Anastasijević - iksi99


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:20 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12004
Location: Munich
iksi99 wrote:
I...how does the PlanetPanelContainer sort planets? I can't find the code anywhere!
It doesn't; when SetPlanets is called, it iterates over the vector of planet ids passed in, and fills its internal vector of PlanetPanels in the order of the passed-in ids.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 1:34 am 
Offline
Designer and Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Posts: 2058
Location: Orion
I'm not at all fond of the idea of actually removing planets from the sidepanel view. A filter is fine, but it should, IMO, reduce the size of the panels for planets that don't match the filter condition, as in eleazar's mockup.

_________________
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group