FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:51 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:32 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
Am i imagining things? When you hover the mouse pointer over a tech, a box pops up with the tech's icon.

I believe that in the latest official release (0.4.7.1) this box displayed info like "Theoretical Prerequisite", "Unlocks Building", etc. Has this info disappeared from those boxes? When i hover i now just get the icon on the left and an empty box.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:58 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12045
Location: Munich
I see the same issue. Don't see the problem in the code though...

The BrowseWnd is being constructed with the appropriate text passed in, but it's just not being rendered for some reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
Would it have anything to do with GG/src/ListBox.cpp ? I'm not sure if this is a relevant file, but i'm seeing a number of changes to it since the official release version (139ffd9). (I remember it working in 139ffd9, haven't played any versions between these two). This is where my nose is pointing me right now.

Here's a link to the comparison between e6848d8 and 139ffd9 if that's helpful to anyone:
https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... ...139ffd9


Oh.. i had the numbers or codes or whatever backwards... there's way more changes than i thought, haha.
https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... ...e6848d8


Last edited by alleryn on Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:21 am 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4390
The tech tooltips are still working fine for me on Linux, as of just a few commits ago at least.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:59 am 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
Just reporting in that i compiled a more recent build [build 2017-11-24.f5304af] and the tech hover box still appears empty on my (windows 10) machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:30 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12045
Location: Munich
It would be helpful if you can narrow down or determine the build or revision that broke them for you.

Edit: does not work for me in d21aa97


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:52 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
Geoff the Medio wrote:
It would be helpful if you can narrow down or determine the build or revision that broke them for you.

Edit: does not work for me in d21aa97

On it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:59 pm 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
I narrowed it down using the sourceforge installers.

Working: 139ffd9 (Sept. 3 -- this is the 0.4.7.1 release build). Also works in an earlier test build (the last one before the release candidates) 4e12b03 (Aug. 24)
Not working: 8ee7fb7 (Sept. 4)

For me to narrow it down to a more precise commit, i think i'm going to first need to figure out how to use git.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 8:51 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
Same as Dilvish here, I do not see any issue.

If you are up to narrowing it further, git bisect would be the tool/feature to use.

Could someone affected open an issue? Preferably with a screen shot if possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:34 am 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
dbenage-cx wrote:
Could someone affected open an issue? Preferably with a screen shot if possible.

Done. https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/issues/1878


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:30 am 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
Appreciate the detailed report alleryn, thankfully it was the first guess.
Fixed in cbf1e48


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:38 am 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
dbenage-cx wrote:
Appreciate the detailed report alleryn, thankfully it was the first guess.
Fixed in cbf1e48

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:15 am 
Offline
Pupating Mass
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:32 pm
Posts: 97
Out of curiosity, any explanation for why windows can't handle the unicode properly while linux can? (If that's the difference between where it was working and where it wasn't).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 5:34 pm 
Offline
Programmer

Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am
Posts: 359
I can not test to be certain, I believe MSVC is encoding it in CP1252, the equivalent would have been 0x96.
The answer on this SO question has a more detailed explanation, if that is the case.
En dash is probably the "proper" character to use for the separation (or em dash, depending on interpretation), but did not feel it warranted compiler specific handling when the difference with hyphen-minus is not likely to be noticed.

_________________
Any content posted should be considered licensed GNU GPL 2.0 and/or CC-BY-SA 3.0 as appropriate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:13 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12045
Location: Munich
dbenage-cx wrote:
...did not feel it warranted compiler specific handling when the difference with hyphen-minus is not likely to be noticed.
What's wrong with
Code:
u8" \u2013 "


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group