FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 9:25 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:29 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 542
I've made my first system renaming today (playing master version pulled yesterday).
The new name is shown in the map, but the old name is still in the Objects Window, the sitreps and the items of the production queue (e.g. it says a ship is being built in <old_name> instead of <new_name>).
I would consider this a bug. Do you agree?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:02 pm 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1063
Location: Germany
Oberlus wrote:
I've made my first system renaming today (playing master version pulled yesterday).
The new name is shown in the map, but the old name is still in the Objects Window, the sitreps and the items of the production queue (e.g. it says a ship is being built in <old_name> instead of <new_name>).
I would consider this a bug. Do you agree?


Somewhat, it's rather a known bug. In the current implementation changing an universe object doesn't necessarily propagate to all UI components, or not all UI components listen for object changes. Are the corresponding UI elements updated when you finish a turn or do they display the stale information indefinitly?

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:14 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 542
It's been several turns from the name change and the old name persists in the Objects Window and the Production Queue (sitreps are right once you advance one turn after the change name).

I've checked that there is no open issue mentioning renaming/rename. Should I open one?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:41 pm 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1063
Location: Germany
Oberlus wrote:
I've checked that there is no open issue mentioning renaming/rename. Should I open one?


Please do so and write down the steps how to reproduce this issue.

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:01 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4620
Oberlus wrote:
It's been several turns from the name change and the old name persists in the Objects Window and the Production Queue (sitreps are right once you advance one turn after the change name).

I've checked that there is no open issue mentioning renaming/rename. Should I open one?
I think you are looking at planet names, and not system names-- I just checked the use of system names in the objects window and in the production queue (where they are mostly used for Rallying), and they were renamed just fine. Renaming a system does not rename the planets in the system.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:37 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm
Posts: 542
Dilvish wrote:
I think you are looking at planet names, and not system names
Doh! You are right! Problem solved.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group