FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sat May 26, 2018 7:45 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:12 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Hi

I've success to play on a game with difficulty maximum, i'm on turn 640. My game has been auto-ended with the message "connection to server was lost" (in french version, it's my translation),; and this mesage appear 10 secs after the reload game. You can found logs/saved game here : (7Mo so too big for this forum) : https://host.freesharing.fr/jirafeau/f. ... hYbth_&d=1 . Link valid until 2018-07-18 13:10 (GMT +02:00).

What can i do?

Regards.

ps : Beautifull game!!
ps2 : Sorry for my english.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:55 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4614
Had you tried interacting with the Sitrep panel in that game session? Did you click anything else? In the logs I see that the Server sent out the turn update, then empires 2,3,6, and 7 all submitted their orders in about the first second (presumably they were eliminated AIs with therefor no orders), then a few seconds later the Server received a request for combat logs update from the human player client, to which it provided 4539 logs, and then 26 seconds later the Server begins a smooth shutdown of the game (although it is not clear to me why), and it successfully shuts down the AIs and apparently is in the very very last stages of shutting itself down when it encounters a memory error:
Code:
2018-04-25 12:49:30.634243 [debug] Server : ServerApp.cpp:160 : Server exited cleanly.
2018-04-25 12:49:30.881154 [error] Server : dmain.cpp:108 : main() caught exception(std::exception): bad allocation


So, to be sure of things, perhaps try loading the game again, and just let it wait a minute or so (if it doesn't crash sooner) before you try interacting with it to be sure it has completed its turn update process, and then make a note of any interactions you do, and repost the logs for that session.

I tried loading up that savegame, but can't at all right now on my Linux machine, because it is a Windows platform binary save (the xml save format is platform independent, but the binary ones are incompatible between Windows and Linux).

I might be able to try loading this on a Windows machine sometime in the next few days, but to enable broader checking here it would help if you could swap your save options to be xml format, then load up a savegame from a turn before (you can load either format regardless of the save setting), and then resave this file in the xml format (and repost).

Also, could you tell us a bit more about the machine you are playing on, such as total memory, graphics card, and cpu type?

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:05 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4614
I also note that the human client log contains some odd errors about Fleets having inconsistent/invalid travel-related attribute values. Perhaps destroying starlanes could have led to that, but I'm not sure. It's also possibly just a memory corruption issue. Although 0.4.7.1 was pretty clean memory-wise, there has been at least one more memory error caught and fixed since then (well, I guess what I am thinking of is more precisely an ID allocator problem but I think it could perhaps have led to object corruption). And 640 turns into a game is really a very long game. I'm willing to put a bit more work into seeing if we can replicate your problem, but mostly I'll recommend that you just upgrade to the current test version.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:05 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for your analyze. This crash arrive 30secs after reload the game, without any click. I'll try this evenning to install the test version.

Yes, 640 is very long, but i like this game ^^. And i enable binaries logs because after turn 300, savegame is very long, even on a recent computer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:07 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Ho wait... This morning i've retried and i've succed to pass the turn 640... Since yesterday i've close many applications. Maybe there is a problem in memory allocations when the computer is overloaded (i was eclipse launched for example :p)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group