FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 7:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:07 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 2
I cannot build "Static Multicellular" nor "Self-Gravitating" ships, even though I have the requisite buildings.
Here's a link to my save game: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CjDOFHeHarhWftq1z07LxathSMfLJmaJ/view?usp=sharing

I really enjoy the game so far, it's a shame I can't build these advanced ships, it's limiting how fast I can advance militarily.

Regards,
ampoliros

Mac OS 10.13.4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:58 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4620
I loaded your game and tested it and find no errors. The problem you are encountering is simply a restriction on the designs you have made-- your existing designs for those hulls appear to me to all include Robotic Interface Shields, which can only be used in a built by Robotic species hull (and apparently their bonus only works for Robotic species). When I made a more standard design I was able to build it fine.

Please note that when you find yourself unable to build something you expected to, it often helps to toggle "Unavaiable" in the Build Designator Window, to give you the listings even for things that you cannot build at that location, and then the tooltip for such items will identify why you cannot build them there.

(edited to clarify robotic interface shields restrictions).

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:36 pm 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 7:51 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you for your quick reply. The robotic restriction would explain things.

Please note that it is not prominent in the description of the Robotic Interface.

In that case, please make this thread a [Feature Request] to change the Robotic Interface description to list a [Restriction] in green for Robotic Hull and Robotic Race, like the other restrictions are. (It appears that it is a bug that _any_ ship can have a Robotic Interface, my Exobot colony on Sirius can build the Rock Destroyer.)

Also, the game makes no attempt to prevent me from adding the Robotic Interface to any ship design I want. The only [Unavailable] button is in the "Ship Parts" sub-window, and it is unchecked by default. When I check it, it only adds everything I have not researched yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 3:09 am 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4620
ampoliros wrote:
Please note that it is not prominent in the description of the Robotic Interface.
Ah, well checking the pedia description for it, it seems I probably misremembered the details of the restriction. It does say "...only applies to ships crewed by Robotic Metabolism species and can only be placed in a Hull Line: Robotic ship." I grant it's wording could be made more clear, but it seems reasonable; did you have some more specific suggestion?

Quote:
In that case, please make this thread a [Feature Request] to change the Robotic Interface description to list a [Restriction] in green for Robotic Hull and Robotic Race, like the other restrictions are.
It appears to me that those are already listed in green. As for making a Feature Request, we manage all those through our github repo now, to make a Feature Request please post an Issue there.

Quote:
(It appears that it is a bug that _any_ ship can have a Robotic Interface, my Exobot colony on Sirius can build the Rock Destroyer.)
I agree that does appear to be a bug of some kind (whether substantive or simply an inaccuracy in the description, I haven't looked into it to see which). Please post an Issue on that on our github repo.

Quote:
Also, the game makes no attempt to prevent me from adding the Robotic Interface to any ship design I want. The only [Unavailable] button is in the "Ship Parts" sub-window, and it is unchecked by default. When I check it, it only adds everything I have not researched yet.
This seems most likely to simply be another aspect of the same issue just noted above.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 4:05 am 
Offline
Space Dragon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 255
Dilvish wrote:
Ah, well checking the pedia description for it, it seems I probably misremembered the details of the restriction. It does say "...only applies to ships crewed by Robotic Metabolism species and can only be placed in a Hull Line: Robotic ship." I grant it's wording could be made more clear, but it seems reasonable; did you have some more specific suggestion?


Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but did something change?
I haven't played in about six months, but Robotic Interface Shield always worked in a Self Gravitating hull with a Robotic species.
As well as in the Titan hull. Both are still part of the Robotic Hull line are they not?
So the OPs problem is that he's trying to build a SG hull Ship with RIS BUT not a Robotic species as pilots?

I still think that you should be able to specify what species should be the pilot during the design phase.
Without it you are severely limited on your pilot choice because of build restrictions.
eg, you have a good pilot species but what are the odds there is also an asteroid field or a Blue star at the same location.
This is why I no longer build anything but Robotic line. They can be built anywhere.
We can transport, nearly instantly, Teratonnes of raw resources around our empires but not a few personnel?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 4:41 am 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 537
EricF wrote:
Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but did something change?
I haven't played in about six months, but Robotic Interface Shield always worked in a Self Gravitating hull with a Robotic species.
As well as in the Titan hull. Both are still part of the Robotic Hull line are they not?

That's always the way it was in the versions I've played. I have on occasion built escort ships with robotic hulls just to accompany Gravs and Titans to boost their shields.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group