FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:44 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:46 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:19 am
Posts: 8
is there a chance to become the freeOrion Game in german :idea: language?
that often i have to use a translation book is not good for gameplay. :wink:

the most problem is to translate the use of additional buildings or building upgrates. but also the techtree will be helpful if it will be translated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:10 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4651
From the main menu choose Options, then in the UI tab click the "..." button next to "Language File" and then select de.txt

I think that is one of the translations that is keep very nearly fully up to date.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:43 pm 
Offline
Vacuum Dragon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm
Posts: 555
As a side note, I find that the online translators work a lot better these days. I ran your other question , "Alle Gegner besiegt, doch kein Sieg?" and the reply through Google translate, and it came out very well.

Als Nebenbemerkung finde ich, dass die Online-Übersetzer heutzutage viel besser arbeiten. Ich habe deine andere Frage gestellt: "Alle Gegner belagert, doch kein Sieg?" und die Antwort durch Google übersetzen, und es kam sehr gut heraus.

Quote:
All enemies defeated, but no victory?

waldi1978 wrote:
How to win at freeOrion? But not just by exploring the Techtree each time to the end? Have defeated all 3 opponents and still receive no victory message!

Hello, first of all congratulations :)

Can it be that there are enemy ships somewhere? You should have received a message for each opponent and then one after there are no enemies left.

Otherwise which freeorion version do you play? The victory message is still relatively new.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:40 am 
Offline
Space Krill

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:19 am
Posts: 8
Danke hat geklappt :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4561
Location: Sol III
Dilvish wrote:
I think that is one of the translations that is keep very nearly fully up to date.
Not really...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4651
Vezzra wrote:
Dilvish wrote:
I think that is one of the translations that is keep very nearly fully up to date.
Not really...
Ah, right, looking more closely now I see that although it has had some recent minor updates, the last really significant update is several years old (though there was also a medium large one just a couple years ago).

It looks to me like there are for some reason a number of entries in de.txt that are still entirely or largely in English, which should really not be the case (and might be interfering with some of the semi-automated tools I seem to recall being discussed for helping to flag when entries need to be added/updated.

I suspect that the reason for the mixed language entries is that someone wanted to translate some aspects of the entry, but didn't feel they had the time to translate the whole thing, so they incorporated some or all of the base English entry. That sets it up though for falling behind from updates to the default English entry. I am wondering if we should have a new stringtable reference tag which would refer to the default (English), to help make sure that mixed language entries could at least have up-to-date English portions. So, for example, the de.txt entry
Quote:
PRO_FUSION_GEN_DESC
'''Increases target [[metertype METER_INDUSTRY]] on planets with the Industry focus by 0.2 per Population.

Fusion plants, while expensive to produce and maintain, easily pay for themselves on industrialized worlds with ever increasing power demands. Reliance on old fission based nuclear plants will gradually become a thing of the past.

Explosive beziehungsweise unkontrollierte thermonukleare Reaktionen sind recht einfach auszulösen, von kleinen taktischen Sprengköpfen hin zu unvorstellbaren stellaren Höllenfeuern. Kontrollierbare, stabile und in der Praxis einsetzbare Energieerzeugung ist um einiges schwieriger zu erreichen. Die Kontrolle des Fusionsprozesses bleibt nichtdestotrotz erstrebenswert, da er nahezu unbegrenzt Energie erzeugt und eventuell keine Abfallprodukte anfallen.'''

might become
Quote:
PRO_FUSION_GEN_DESC
'''[[default PRO_FUSION_GEN_DESC]]

Explosive beziehungsweise unkontrollierte thermonukleare Reaktionen sind recht einfach auszulösen, von kleinen taktischen Sprengköpfen hin zu unvorstellbaren stellaren Höllenfeuern. Kontrollierbare, stabile und in der Praxis einsetzbare Energieerzeugung ist um einiges schwieriger zu erreichen. Die Kontrolle des Fusionsprozesses bleibt nichtdestotrotz erstrebenswert, da er nahezu unbegrenzt Energie erzeugt und eventuell keine Abfallprodukte anfallen.'''

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:59 pm 
Online
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12223
Location: Munich
Dilvish wrote:
I am wondering if we should have a new stringtable reference tag which would refer to the default (English)...
The default (english) stringtable is used as a fallback if a string is missing in the current stringtable, so such a tag shouldn't be necessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:09 pm 
Offline
AI Lead, Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm
Posts: 4651
Geoff the Medio wrote:
The default (english) stringtable is used as a fallback if a string is missing in the current stringtable, so such a tag shouldn't be necessary.
I think you must not have read or thought about my entire comment closely enough (edit: or, well, perhaps I just didn't write it clearly enough for a busy reader such as yourself :D )-- I am not talking about entries that are missing in the secondary/current stringtable. I am talking about situations where people are currently constructing partly translated entries, and how that could be supported in a way that could still get the benefits of default entries.

_________________
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:41 am 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1072
Location: Germany
The game already prefers the language used by the default system locale. You're playing the an outdated version as already mentioned in the other thread.

Also the German translation is stale for most parts.

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:55 am 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1072
Location: Germany
Dilvish wrote:
It looks to me like there are for some reason a number of entries in de.txt that are still entirely or largely in English, which should really not be the case (and might be interfering with some of the semi-automated tools I seem to recall being discussed for helping to flag when entries need to be added/updated.


Some of those translations are still 'good enough' to be reused so I kept those when cleaning up the translation. The english chunks are usually related to stat based and game relevant informatiosn. I didn't want to invest the time to translate those before they go stale again so I copied them over to the corresponding old entry. Another problem is that some of those translation entries should be assigned to other logical game units. The entry you gave as example should have the technobabble associated to the Tech object, while the stat description should be a separated entry associated to the EffectGroup that is the source of the stat. Also the automatic generation of text descriptions on effects sucks big time. It hardly works for english and for other languages it's just a mutilation instead of a translation. Same goes for internal links. The link must allow some text associated with it instead of taking the translation for the referenced entry.

Also key based lookup sucks.
Also no tooling sucks.
Also .. you get the idea.

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:33 am 
Online
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12223
Location: Munich
adrian_broher wrote:
... the stat description should be a separated entry associated to the EffectGroup that is the source of the stat.
Except in cases where the EffectGroup is attached to one bit of content, but needs to be mentioned in the description for another bit of content, in which case extra dummy description-generator EffectGroups are also needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:40 am 
Offline
Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 1072
Location: Germany
Geoff the Medio wrote:
adrian_broher wrote:
... the stat description should be a separated entry associated to the EffectGroup that is the source of the stat.
Except in cases where the EffectGroup is attached to one bit of content, but needs to be mentioned in the description for another bit of content, in which case extra dummy description-generator EffectGroups are also needed.


Except it won't. EffectGroups bundle one or more effects with one or more clauses. If one or another tech or something else is referencing an EffectGroup, the effect and therefor the effect description must be the same. If the current translation refers to the associated Tech then it's poor wording.

_________________
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:20 am 
Online
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12223
Location: Munich
adrian_broher wrote:
EffectGroups bundle one or more effects with one or more clauses. If one or another tech or something else is referencing an EffectGroup, the effect and therefor the effect description must be the same.
I don't understand what you mean. What does "referencing an EffectGroup" mean?

Regardless, the cases I'm referring to are things like a building that has an effect if a tech is researched, or a part has an effect if a particular species crews the ship. The effect would generally be scripted in one or the other bit of content, not both. Thus by default there wouldn't be any mention of the effect in the description of the other bit of content, even though the effect's function depends on both and should probably be mentioned in both descriptions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group