FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:49 pm 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Posts: 24
Mac OS 12.6
v0.4.8 2018-06-14.3f22a75
Right-click on a planet for planet suitability, game closes (doesn't crash as far as I can see; crash reporter doesn't come up)

Pretty sure this has been happening for a while, but frankly I forgot to report it!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:08 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12237
Location: Munich
Doesn't crash for me on master on Windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:12 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4594
Location: Sol III
@jsena: I'm on the exact same OSX version as you (10.12.6 Sierra), and I can't reproduce the crash. Pedia window opens just fine.

Can you post the freeorion.log from immediately after such a crash? Preferably open a github issue for this problem and upload the log there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:07 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4594
Location: Sol III
Vezzra wrote:
...I can't reproduce the crash.
Erm, I've to retract that statement. I can reproduce this issue, turned out it's important for which planet you try to open the suitability report first. I tried with my homeworld first, and everything worked just fine. Also opening the suitability report for other (unowned planets) worked. However, when the first thing you do after starting a new game is opening the suitability report for one of the unowned planets in your home system -> crash.

Furthermore, the issue only occurs with builds of the release branch, and apparently only on OSX (I couldn't reproduce the issue on Windows). So, that means the issue only happens if all of the following are true:

  • You do not open the suitability report of an owned colony first
  • You are on OSX
  • You use a build of the release branch

Just peachy. :? Don't you just love bugs like these. Always a joy to hunt down... :(

Issue on github: #2166


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:17 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 4594
Location: Sol III
Vezzra wrote:
You use a build of the release branch
After many hours of trying to narrow down when this bug has been introduced I'm can't say that for sure anymore. The bug turns out to be very elusive, apparently it's harder to trigger on some builds than on others. Which means, just because I haven't been able to reproduce the issue on current master (by following the steps described in the issue on github) doesn't mean it isn't there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group