FreeOrion

Forums for the FreeOrion project
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:33 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:24 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
Ubuntu/Mint/Debian (wheezy)
I provide different versions for Ubuntu and Debian. If you use Debian you need to replace "quantal" with "wheezy" in all occurrences below (especially in the "deb" lines for sources.list).
You can either download a recent build from https://sourceforge.net/projects/freeor ... st/Ubuntu/ or https://sourceforge.net/projects/freeor ... st/Debian/ . Alternatively you can visit my repository http://www.nagilum.org/repo/pool/quantal/f/freeorion/ and download it from there.
If you install via "dpkg -i freeorion_0.4.3+svn6591-1_amd64.deb freeorion-data_0.4.3+svn6591-1_all.deb" for the first time you may have to install additional dependencies using "apt-get -f install".
If you want automatic updates (be aware that these frequently break savegame compatibility) you can also add the repository:
Code:
sudo apt-add-repository 'deb http://www.nagilum.org/repo/ quantal quantal'
wget http://nagilum.org/repo/orion@nagilum.org.key.asc
sudo apt-key add orion@nagilum.org.key.asc
Replace "quantal" with "precise", "saucy" or "trusty" for your specific distribution.
After that for installing:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install freeorion

Arch
Test builds can be found on sourceforge

Others
To stay keep up-to-date you could also subscribe the appropriate folder on Sourceforge using your favourite RSS reader to:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/freeor ... rusty_Tahr (for example)
or subscribe to my twitter account using Twitter: https://twitter.com/Nagilum23 which I try to keep up-to-date.


Last edited by Nagilum on Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:28 pm, edited 44 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 9:31 am 
Offline
Space Floater

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:15 am
Posts: 38
Ah, you evil man! It eat my younger one...

Nah, kidding, it works for me. At least for Ubuntu 12.04 Live Image. It outputs something about failing to work with 'nouveau' driver but I didn't see any graphical artifacts. Sound is also working. For Kubuntu 10.10 Live Image though it produced pretty bad graphical glitches (sorry, I forgot to take screenshots) making the game unplayable. It always prints "extract failed :(" but works nevertheless.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 9:47 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
What revision is this build? Has the version string shown in the UI been updated to match?

Any objections to putting it up on sourceforge? Any suggestions about how to describe what it is, and what distributions it's likely to work on?

Is there a sensible way to provide build scripts so this can be more easily replicated by others, besides a 1.5 GB VM download?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:04 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
@zhur:
Thanks for testing!
About the nouveau driver, did it say anything about failing to open any files? If yes, could you let me know which file(s) ?
About the the failed extract - that's probably because there isn't enough diskspace in /tmp.
It needs about 500MB diskspace in /tmp. Maybe you can mount a USB-Stick to /tmp and try again?

@Geoff:
This is Rev. 5096 (or at least that's what it says on the startscreen).
No objections - but maybe it should get some more testing?
Sure, I'll post them here after my breakfast. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:07 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
Nagilum wrote:
This is Rev. 5096 (or at least that's what it says on the startscreen).
That's quite likely wrong; the string has to be manually updated, so unless you actually checked out 5096 in order to build 0.4.1, it's probably out of date. Are you not building the latest SVN for some reason?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
Ok, the Arch VM is a very basic Arch install plus a few addition:
wmaker (which pulls in xorg), xdm, pulseaudio, dhcpd and freeorion (+deps).
I also installed AMD and Intel DRI drivers to include them in the exe.
First I downloaded CDE I later build the version from the git reporsitory. I build cde for i686 and x86_64. On x86_64 I managed to build a static version so no dependency on libc or anything.
I created two small scripts, the first runs freeorion through cde:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

cd
rm -Rf cde-package .freeorion
if ! ps ax|grep -q pu[l]seaudio ; then pulseaudio --start ;fi
#./cde_2011-08-15_32bit /usr/bin/freeorion
./cde -i /etc/localtime -p /home/orion /usr/bin/freeorion "$@"

And the second script works in three stages.
1. It adds the content of a few selected arch packages to the bundle
2. It creates a shell script that serves as a header to the final executeable
3. and then tars up and compresses the cde-package and appends it to the shell script:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

TGT=$HOME/freeorion
TMPTAR=/tmp/tmp.tar
tar -cvf $TMPTAR --no-recursion /usr # empty archive to append

cd cde-package
for PKG in freeorion ati-dri intel-dri libgl libdrm libxcb libpciaccess
do      pacman -Ql $PKG|awk '{print $2}'|grep -v "/$"|xargs tar -rvf $TMPTAR
done
tar -C cde-root -xf $TMPTAR && rm $TMPTAR
[ -e cde-exec ] && mv cde-exec cde-exec-$(uname -m)
cp -p ../cde-x86_64 ./cde-exec-x86_64
rm -Rf cde-root/home/orion/.pulse-cookie
cat >$TGT <<-ENDHEAD
#!/bin/sh
if [ -d /home/orion -a -w /home/orion ]
then export TMP=\`mktemp -d /tmp/orion.XXXXXX\`
tail -n+12 \$0|tar -C \$TMP -xJf - || rm -Rf \$TMP ; echo 'extract failed :('
cd \$TMP/ && \
cp -p ./cde-exec-\$(uname -m) cde-exec
 ./cde-exec -p '/home/orion' freeorion "\$@"
cd - >/dev/null
rm -Rf \$TMP
else echo 'Please create "/home/orion" and make it writeable by current user.'
fi
exit 0
ENDHEAD

tar -cf - .|xz -c9 >>$TGT
cd ..
ls -lh $TGT

So in the end you have a singe executable which is actually a shell script that extracts the cde-package to /tmp and runs it.
So currently I don't compile the freeorion myself and rely entirely on the Arch package. I'm not too familiar with Arch so it would take me a while to figure out how to do a clean (using fakeroot or lxc) freeorion build.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:03 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
Nagilum wrote:
I also installed AMD and Intel DRI drivers to include them in the exe.
That concerns me a bit. The binaries can't be released as an official FreeOrion package if they have non-GPL compatible driver binaries in them...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:12 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
I don't know but if Arch can distribute them without me having to agree to anything special or enable any special repo I would think there shouldn't be an issue for FreeOrion?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:26 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
Nagilum wrote:
I would think there shouldn't be an issue for FreeOrion?
To distribute them with FreeOrion, they need to be released under a GPL compatible license. Whether and how ArchLinux distributes them some other way doesn't matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:44 am 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
Quote:
To distribute them with FreeOrion, they need to be released under a GPL compatible license. Whether and how ArchLinux distributes them some other way doesn't matter.

That's my point - I don't think they do.
As far as I know the Intel and AMD drivers are GPL and I didn't install any Catalyst or NVidia drivers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:47 am 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
Nagilum wrote:
As far as I know the Intel and AMD drivers are GPL...
Can you check to make sure?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:23 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
Ok I checked,
intel/ati-dri/libgl are all part of http://mesa3d.sourceforge.net/license.html which is MIT license.
Which - as far as I know - should pose no issue with redistribution.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 12:58 pm 
Offline
Programming, Design, Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Posts: 12007
Location: Munich
Nagilum wrote:
MIT license.
That should be fine, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 6:26 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
I updated my exe to include the other DRI drivers as well. I also fixed that bug that caused the 'extract failed' message to be emitted in any case.
Here the updated 'pack' script:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

TGT=$HOME/freeorion
TMPTAR=/tmp/tmp.tar
tar -cvf $TMPTAR --no-recursion /usr # empty archive to append

cd cde-package
for PKG in freeorion ati-dri intel-dri nouveau-dri i810-dri mga-dri mach64-dri r128-dri savage-dri sis-dri tdfx-dri unichrome-dri libgl libdrm libxcb libpciaccess
do      pacman -Ql $PKG|awk '{print $2}'|grep -v "/$"|xargs tar -rvf $TMPTAR
done
tar -C cde-root -xf $TMPTAR && rm $TMPTAR
[ -e cde-exec ] && mv cde-exec cde-exec-$(uname -m)
cp -p ../cde-x86_64 ./cde-exec-x86_64
rm -Rf cde-root/home/orion/.pulse-cookie cde-root/home/orion/.freeorion cde-root/usr/share/man cde-root/usr/include
cat >$TGT <<-ENDHEAD
#!/bin/sh
if [ -d /home/orion -a -w /home/orion ]
then export TMP=\`mktemp -d /tmp/orion.XXXXXX\`
tail -n+12 \$0|tar -C \$TMP -xJf - || ( rm -Rf \$TMP ; echo 'extract failed :(' )
cd \$TMP/ && \
cp -p ./cde-exec-\$(uname -m) cde-exec
./cde-exec -p '/home/orion' freeorion "\$@"
cd - >/dev/null
rm -Rf \$TMP
else echo 'Please create a symlink from "/home/orion" to your home directory.'
fi
exit 0
ENDHEAD

tar -cf - .|xz -c9 >>$TGT
cd ..
ls -lh $TGT


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:52 pm 
Offline
Release Manager, Design
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:25 pm
Posts: 212
Location: Germany
Another update..
This time I compiled the Arch package my self from SVN rev. r5378.
The reason for the update was that the older version become progressively slower as the game progressed and GeofftheMedio recommended updating to the latest SVN version.
You can fetch the new version from here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group