Struggling with MoO on OSX

Talk about strategy games like MoO series, Civilization, Europa Universalis, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
zhamilton
Space Floater
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:24 pm

Struggling with MoO on OSX

#1 Post by zhamilton » Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:56 pm

Howdy guys,

I've been trying to get MoO to work on my Macbook that's running 10.6.8 but I'm having a ton of trouble. My PC is down right now, so I can't just load it up on there. So far I've tried to use wine, a DOS emulator which was way too confusing, and "sheepsaver" which is a powerpc mac emulator except I needed a mac os9 install disc which I didn't have...

so I'm wondering if you guys have any solutions to getting MoO to work on my Mac. Should I just give up with the original and try to get the second one working?

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4609
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#2 Post by Vezzra » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:25 pm

Depending on how much RAM you have you could try to set up Windows in a virtual machine using VirtualBox (8GB of RAM recommended). Or you can try the Boot Camp road (less demanding on the RAM side, but you can't run both OS at the same time).

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#3 Post by eleazar » Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:42 pm

I think you can play the windows version of MoO1 on DosBox, but i haven't tried it.

Rogor
Space Floater
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:25 pm

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#4 Post by Rogor » Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:27 pm

I'm playing MoO2 with DosBox on my Mac 10.6.8. It works

zhamilton
Space Floater
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:24 pm

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#5 Post by zhamilton » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:55 am

Howdy,

Thanks for the responses! I could do bootcamp I guess, but then I'd have to download a copy of windows which is problematic as I live in rural Africa and my internet connection is about 56k. It takes me a week to download a new build of FreeOrion :-(.

The DOSBox option sounds the most promising, so maybe I'll take a look at that again. I just can't really seem to figure it out. I've got a windows copy of MoO1. So I use the "mount c /applications/Master of Orion" command to give the Box a directory, right? Now I've got four .exe files inside my MoO folder, an instal.exe, ms-copy.exe, orion.exe, starmap.exe Which of these do I attempt to run first, and how? Also, will I be able to save a game through dosbox or will I have to start a new game every time I close the app?

Yeah, I'm not too good with all the super technical stuff, so if somebody could point me in the right direction and maybe give me some of the correct commands to use in DOSBox that'd be super cool! Should I just try to get MoO2 to work instead?


Thanks!

~Z

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#6 Post by eleazar » Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:17 pm

Boxer is a friendly Mac-style version of dosbox

http://boxerapp.com/

I recommend it rather than the regular version of dosbox

zhamilton
Space Floater
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:24 pm

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#7 Post by zhamilton » Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:15 pm

Thanks!

I didn't check out Boxer but I did get Dosbox working successfully after another couple hours of tinkering. Now I just have to figure out how to play MoO...

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#8 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:08 am

zhamilton wrote:Now I just have to figure out how to play MoO...
http://sirian.warpcore.org/moo1/tutorial.html

zhamilton
Space Floater
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:24 pm

Re: Struggling with MoO on OSX

#9 Post by zhamilton » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:33 pm

...and this forum is awesome.

Post Reply