Possible Contributor?

Samples of sound/music, ideas or suggestions related to the development of audio assets for FreeOrion.
Eddyster
Space Krill

Possible Contributor?

#1 Post by Eddyster »

Hi freeorion geniuses :D

I'm a budding composer and sound designer for all sorts of multimedia applications. I was wondering whether the audio team needs expanding? I'd love to contribute some music and sounds.

A brief resume of my work can be found at my website: http://www.edwardblakeley.co.uk. (the most relavent examples are 'ambience', 'orbit' for the ambient stuff, otherwise just have a listen!)

As a student I have the time and inclination to do lots of work for free :).

Let me know what you think!
Cheers
Edd

Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer

Re: Possible Contributor?

#2 Post by Bigjoe5 »

Eddyster wrote:I was wondering whether the audio team needs expanding?
Yes.

As you may have noticed, we have a fairly low supply of music right now, and since we are in the midst of the combat section, more music contributions would definitely be appreciated.

I'm not sure if any of this has been composed yet (my guess is no), but my opinion is that the game should choose which battle music track to play based on the initial conditions of the battle, i.e. comparative strengths of opposing fleets, combined fleet size, stealth of enemy fleets vs. detection of player fleet, player race, etc.

So to clarify, it would probably be fruitful to work on:

Battle music (for regular battles)

Epic battle music (for epic battles)

Gyisache battle music (for when the player is playing as the Gyisache)

Eaxaw battle music (for when the player is playing as the Eaxaw)

Chato'matou'Gormoshk battle music (for when the player is playing as the Chato'matou'Gormoshk)

Stealth battle music (for when most of the forces that the player could detect on the galaxy map are too stealthy to be seen at the start of the battle)