How do you add species?

Creation, discussion, and balancing of game content such as techs, buildings, ship parts.

Moderator: Committer

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
pwhk
Space Floater
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:34 am

How do you add species?

#1 Post by pwhk » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:03 am

... On 0.4.7+ Test version. I slap the Species script file onto default/scripting/species, edited and ran the bld_col_gen.py, added the building into starting_unlocks/items.inf. But it doesn't work - the species does not show up in the list of playable species... :(

Did I miss anything since we separated each species into their own files?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: How do you add species?

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:53 am

Check the client log file. You have a parser error that prevents the species from being included.

Also, make sure you started with an already-playable species or that you added Playable to the script.

I just made a copy of SP_HUMAN.txt, changed the species name to SP_NEW, added SP_NEW to the stringtable, and started the game. "New Species" is in the player species droplist in the single player setup screen.

User avatar
pwhk
Space Floater
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:34 am

Re: How do you add species?

#3 Post by pwhk » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:09 am

No, the log file (i.e. User/AppData/Roaming/FreeOrion/freeorion.log) does not complain anything about parser errors or such... (That's why I ask....) (yes I have editing the en.txt stringtable)

I did the exact steps by Geoff and it does not work either... :?

Should the file name be "SP_SPECIES.focs.txt" or "SP_SPECIES.txt"?? Because the former is what I saw from every file in default/scripting/species

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: How do you add species?

#4 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:16 am

Do you have FreeOrion installed in Program Files on Windows? Possibly it's preventing you from editing / modifying the contents of that directory. Maybe make a copy of the default directory elsewhere, do the edits there, then set that as the default directory.

Not sure what I named it, or if the .focs is needed, but it'd be safer / more consistent to keep it.

User avatar
pwhk
Space Floater
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 11:34 am

Re: How do you add species?

#5 Post by pwhk » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:28 am

hm.. The game is not installed inside Program Files but under another logical drive.

But well I think I made it work. Basically I have two installations of FO, one thru installer while the other is pulled from source code and have the exe and dll download slapped over it. The former works fine while the latter does not work at all (despite the game opens just fine). Probably that's the issue :?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: How do you add species?

#6 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:50 am

It could be taking the scripts from the same place for both installs. Check the options menu, directories tab, resource files locations.

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: How do you add species?

#7 Post by MatGB » Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:26 pm

It will almost certainly be taking the default files from the same place if you've got two installs running, and that would be the problem: if you're using a Test build, use the new create persistent config option after editing the location.

If you are going to be changing files &c, I strongly recommend learning to use Git, the learning curve is steep but it's very much worth it once you've got the basics.

(and for what it's worth, the most recent playable species is my addition and I made so many mistakes creating it and then putting it into master it was embarrassing, so don't be put off)
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Post Reply