Is it something wrong with the domain name?

For topics that do not fit in another sub-forum.

Moderator: Oberlus

Message
Author
User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12749
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

#16 Post by Geoff the Medio »

leiavoia wrote:Just give him a call
I think that's been tried...

and even if it hasn't, he's either moved, or is unlisted:

http://findaperson.canada411.ca/10649/s ... tate_id=QC

and "+8.95652845" does not resemble a valid Canadian phone number, which should be of the form (###) ###-#### where () encloses the area code, and number of digits in each section is invariant.

Edit: However, if desparate:

http://findaperson.canada411.ca/10649/s ... tate_id=QC

Tyreth
FreeOrion Lead Emeritus
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:23 am
Location: Australia

#17 Post by Tyreth »

I'd rather not contact him, because then I am hoping that control will drop out of his hands due to him being silent. If I did get contact, I'd be asking him to tell them to grant me ownership - but he is difficult to communicate so I think that would take more time and effort. Right now it is looking good for gaining control.

It won't take long hopefully.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12749
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

#18 Post by Geoff the Medio »

Tyreth wrote:Right now it is looking good for gaining control.

It won't take long hopefully.
I dunno... it's a bit scary. If you actually got control of the domain name, there would be so fewer things that could cause it to go down, so that when it inevitably does go down again in 4 to 6 months, the cause will have to be something more serious... like the server's continent sinking into the ocean or a space invasion or rampaging ferrets or somesuch...

Tyreth
FreeOrion Lead Emeritus
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:23 am
Location: Australia

#19 Post by Tyreth »

Take your negative attitudes, and throw them into the third sun!

Although we do seem to have had a bad run in regards to uptime. I can already foresee the next cause of downtime, but I shall keep that one a surprise for you all :wink:

Ablaze
Creative Contributor
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 6:10 pm
Location: Amidst the Inferno.

#20 Post by Ablaze »

I have a request.

I tend to use any number of public terminals here at school to access these forums, so I usually get to them by typing freeorion.org/forum in the address bar. At home I can use bookmarks so not having a domain name doesn’t bother me, but at school I have to do a google search for freeorion, click on the third or fourth link (the sourceforge page) go to the homepage from there, and click on the link to the forums from the homepage.

It would save a step if there was a link to the forums in sourceforge. Is that possible?
Time flies like the wind, fruit flies like bananas.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12749
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

#21 Post by Geoff the Medio »

If I'm at a public terminal, I use the link from the FO announcements message that Tyreth sent out from within gmail. It's also available on the sourceforge site:

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/foru ... m_id=31949

If you don't have a webmail copy of that message, send yourself an email with the forum IP / address in it.

Asky
Space Krill
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 1:26 am

#22 Post by Asky »

or, http://freeorion.sf.net has the links too

Tyreth
FreeOrion Lead Emeritus
Posts: 885
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:23 am
Location: Australia

#23 Post by Tyreth »

Domain is back, finally.

User avatar
Zanzibar
Psionic Snowflake
Posts: 470
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:35 pm
Location: Earth

#24 Post by Zanzibar »

Tyreth wrote:Domain is back, finally.
Three cheers for our legal team!! :D
Image

Image

noelte
Juggernaut
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Germany, Berlin

#25 Post by noelte »

As long as the ip adress doesn't change ...

But it's all tyreth fault. He tries to keep an low profile. :twisted: :P :wink:
Press any key to continue or any other key to cancel.
Can COWs fly?

Wrath of the Bulrathi
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 12:58 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

#26 Post by Wrath of the Bulrathi »

Tested and works well, using both methods. Keeping an alternative route as back up, is a good idea (just in case!)
If anything can go wrong - it will!

Post Reply