Translation trouble.

For topics that do not fit in another sub-forum.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Captain Rage
Space Krill
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Translation trouble.

#1 Post by Captain Rage » Sun May 18, 2008 11:06 am

After doing some editing to the text I noticed that the names and descriptions of quite alot of buildings had been messed up. Just like this one:

Image

The thing is, I haven't even started to translate those parts of the text, so I don't know why they got messy.

Anything in particular that I should have in mind while translating? Sadly, my methods so far are very unprofessional, I just open the stringtable file in OpenOffice and save it when I'm done, so maybe the formatting gets to suffer.
Trying to translate FreeOrion into Swedish.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Translation trouble.

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun May 18, 2008 11:14 am

That particular error is due to a typo. It should be IMPERIAL not IMERIAL.

This might have been in v0.3.9, though should be fixed in SVN, so make sure you're based your translation on the latest file in SVN.

Are there any other errors besides that one building?

You don't need anything fancy like OpenOffice to edit the stringtable file. It's just plain text.

User avatar
Captain Rage
Space Krill
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Translation trouble.

#3 Post by Captain Rage » Sun May 18, 2008 11:31 am

I tried to change IMERIAL to IMPERIAL, but this error persists even then.
Yes, it's the same thing for about half of all buildings, though the other half looks as it should.

That's another question, when the SVN stringtable gets updated, does it mean that I have to manually cut and paste all text from my current file to match? That would be tedious. :P
Trying to translate FreeOrion into Swedish.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Translation trouble.

#4 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun May 18, 2008 11:40 am

Can you try to find the first entry in the stringtable that is showing errors? There might be a missing newline or other formatting error that's been introduced somehow...

Automating the process was the motivation for the FOOT system that's linked from the wiki translations template, although he seems to have abandoned it...

There should be some general-purpose software to make updating easier, such as programs that let you look at two files side-by-side and highlight differences. You can also look at the changes between versions of the english stringtable, and make those same changes to your own version. This will generally be much less text than the whole file.

User avatar
Captain Rage
Space Krill
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Translation trouble.

#5 Post by Captain Rage » Sun May 18, 2008 12:35 pm

I tried that now, but to find a what line break is causing the problem is like looking for a needle in a haystack, atleast when you're not used to working in a word processor.
Oh, well, I'll just continue for now and maybe I'll figure it out.
And if you do know a text editor or word processor more suited for this task than OpenOffice Writer, don't keep it a secret.
Trying to translate FreeOrion into Swedish.

User avatar
pd
Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E

Re: Translation trouble.

#6 Post by pd » Sun May 18, 2008 12:39 pm

A simple search seems to produce some useful results. You'll have to see for yourself, what is available for free and what suits this task best.

User avatar
Captain Rage
Space Krill
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 3:39 pm

Re: Translation trouble.

#7 Post by Captain Rage » Sun May 18, 2008 1:26 pm

Okay, looks like it wasn't me who caused the error with building names. I used the latest SVN stringtable when I started translating, and now I tried to use the original SVN stringtable which gives the same errors. The conclusion would be that the latest SVN stringtable is not 100% compatible with the FreeOrion version that I'm using.

Thank you for the search tip, it led me to WinMerge which seems mighty fine for this sort of things.
Trying to translate FreeOrion into Swedish.

User avatar
pd
Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1924
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:17 pm
Location: 52°16'N 10°31'E

Re: Translation trouble.

#8 Post by pd » Sun May 18, 2008 1:29 pm

Your welcome, good luck with this huge translation task. I had to laugh when I've read "enorm karg". It makes sense in german too :)

User avatar
kroddn
Static Linker
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:28 am

Re: Translation trouble.

#9 Post by kroddn » Mon May 19, 2008 6:34 pm

There's no real concept for translaters to maintain the langfiles. I wrote a thread with a feature-request to help maintain langfiles, there is work to be done:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2115

Post Reply