Audio disabled?

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Audio disabled?

#1 Post by Abysssos » Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:22 pm

Hey there,

for some reason i cannot make the game to play any music in the new version. In v0.4.6 it worked fine. Is it supposed to be like that or is something wrong on my side. Here is the freeorion.log after i quit the game:

2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [debug] Client : Logger.cpp:67 : Logger initialized
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : Logger.cpp:68 : v0.4.7 [build 2017-04-13.3efa627] MSVC 2015
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : HumanClientApp.cpp:214 : GL Version String: 4.2.11762 Compatibility Profile Context
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:81 : Dependency versions from headers:
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : Boost: 1_59
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : FreeType: 2.5.5
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : PNG: 1.6.29
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : SDL: 2.0.4
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : libvorbis: Xiph.Org libVorbis 1.3.5
2017-04-18 11:53:49.015625 [info] Client : DependencyVersions.cpp:84 : zlib: 1.2.8
2017-04-18 11:53:49.062500 [debug] Client : Sound.cpp:355 : OpenAL initialized. Version 1.1 ALSOFT 1.17.2 Renderer OpenAL Soft Vendor OpenAL Community
Extensions: AL_EXT_ALAW AL_EXT_BFORMAT AL_EXT_DOUBLE AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE AL_EXT_FLOAT32 AL_EXT_IMA4 AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE AL_EXT_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_MULAW AL_EXT_MULAW_BFORMAT AL_EXT_MULAW_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_OFFSET AL_EXT_source_distance_model AL_LOKI_quadriphonic AL_SOFT_block_alignment AL_SOFT_buffer_samples AL_SOFT_buffer_sub_data AL_SOFT_deferred_updates AL_SOFT_direct_channels AL_SOFT_loop_points AL_SOFT_MSADPCM AL_SOFT_source_latency AL_SOFT_source_length

2017-04-18 11:53:49.062500 [debug] Client : Sound.cpp:252 : Audio enabled.
2017-04-18 11:53:49.093750 [debug] Client : Hotkeys.cpp:218 : Hotkey::ReadFromOptions : Typing-unsafe key spec: 'MOD_KEY_LCTRL | MOD_KEY_RCTRL+GGK_DOWN' for hotkey map.pan_down
2017-04-18 11:53:49.093750 [debug] Client : Hotkeys.cpp:218 : Hotkey::ReadFromOptions : Typing-unsafe key spec: 'MOD_KEY_LCTRL | MOD_KEY_RCTRL+GGK_LEFT' for hotkey map.pan_left
2017-04-18 11:53:49.093750 [debug] Client : Hotkeys.cpp:218 : Hotkey::ReadFromOptions : Typing-unsafe key spec: 'MOD_KEY_LCTRL | MOD_KEY_RCTRL+GGK_RIGHT' for hotkey map.pan_right
2017-04-18 11:53:49.093750 [debug] Client : Hotkeys.cpp:218 : Hotkey::ReadFromOptions : Typing-unsafe key spec: 'MOD_KEY_LCTRL | MOD_KEY_RCTRL+GGK_UP' for hotkey map.pan_up
2017-04-18 11:53:49.312500 [debug] Client : ClientUI.cpp:436 : loading 14 charsets for current stringtable characters
2017-04-18 11:53:49.312500 [debug] Client : ClientUI.cpp:465 : Loading 14 Unicode charsets: Basic Latin, Latin-1 Supplement, Latin Extended-A, Combining Diacritical Marks, Greek and Coptic, Cyrillic, Arabic, Latin Extended Additional, General Punctuation, Mathematical Operators, Supplemental Arrows-A, Katakana, CJK Unified Ideographs, Hangul Syllables,
2017-04-18 11:53:49.750000 [debug] Client : HumanClientApp.cpp:1196 : Limited FPS to 60
2017-04-18 11:53:49.750000 [debug] Client : HumanClientApp.cpp:158 : OpenGL Version Number: 4.2
2017-04-18 11:53:49.890625 [debug] Client : HumanClientFSM.cpp:110 : (HumanClientFSM) IntroMenu
2017-04-18 11:53:49.890625 [debug] Client : HumanClientApp.cpp:911 : HumanClientApp::HandleFocusChange(Gained Focus)
2017-04-18 11:54:01.015625 [debug] Client : HumanClientApp.cpp:327 : HumanClientApp exited cleanly.
2017-04-18 11:54:01.031250 [debug] Client : HumanClientFSM.cpp:115 : (HumanClientFSM) ~IntroMenu
2017-04-18 11:54:01.046875 [debug] Client : chmain.cpp:307 : Human client main exited cleanly.
2017-04-18 11:54:01.078125 [debug] Client : Sound.cpp:268 : Audio disabled.



Thanks for helping me out here!

dbenage-cx
Programmer
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am

Re: Audio disabled?

#2 Post by dbenage-cx » Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:19 am

Hi Abysssos, not seeing any issues in that log, so just a few general checks.

Do you hear sound effects? With a new game, selecting a fleet should play a sound effect.

In Options->Audio check if music is enabled, the volume slider is turned up, and a music file selected(should be artificial_intelligence_v3.ogg).

Did you recently play 0.4.6? Might try playing the music file listed in Options->Audio in a media player (possibly need to get a codec, app should warn if so).

Do you have more than 1 audio device installed?

Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#3 Post by Abysssos » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:10 am

I don´t hear any sounds at all. Music is enabled. I can play the file when i move to the directory with the explorer and start it from there with the media player and it just sounds good but it won´t start with the game. And yes, i played 0.4.6 several days ago and it just worked fine with music and sound. Just one audio device installed, so i don´t see any problems with that.

Really strange...

Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#4 Post by Abysssos » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:40 pm

By the way, here is the config.xml-file from the game. The issue still exists. No ingame sound and no music even though all files are showing that it should work finely.
Attachments
config.xml
(26.08 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12284
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Audio disabled?

#5 Post by Geoff the Medio » Wed Apr 19, 2017 12:45 pm

If you open the volume mixer while the game is running and has input focus (is the active / selected window in the OS), does the bar indicating volume bump up and down?
Attachments
mixer.png
volume mixer and FreeOrion
mixer.png (650.83 KiB) Viewed 1352 times

Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#6 Post by Abysssos » Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:43 pm

I am using Windows XP SP3 on this machine. There is no separate audio volume for Freeorion visible :(

Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#7 Post by Abysssos » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:31 pm

I reinstalled it several times. Still cannot get any sounds out of it. Am i the only experiencing those problems?

User avatar
Oberlus
Small Juggernaut
Posts: 712
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#8 Post by Oberlus » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:36 am

I'm fine, although I'm using Win 7.

Devs, did any change on sound playing occur from 0.4.6 to 0.4.7 that could be failing for the old Win XP?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12284
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Audio disabled?

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:40 am

Oberlus wrote:Devs, did any change on sound playing occur from 0.4.6 to 0.4.7 that could be failing for the old Win XP?
There have been some changes in Sound.cpp: https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... /Sound.cpp

User avatar
adrian_broher
Programmer
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: Audio disabled?

#10 Post by adrian_broher » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:31 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:
Oberlus wrote:Devs, did any change on sound playing occur from 0.4.6 to 0.4.7 that could be failing for the old Win XP?
There have been some changes in Sound.cpp: https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... /Sound.cpp
Also the OpenAL build and the SDK build changed.
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12284
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Audio disabled?

#11 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:51 am

Abysssos, if you want to narrow down the issue, you could test previous weekly test builds to determine when the problem first appeared.

Abysssos
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Audio disabled?

#12 Post by Abysssos » Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:29 pm

I think i wait for a new release canditate and hope it gets rechanged so its also compatible with Windows XP.

Thanks so far, even though it seems i am the only one left who is using XP :)

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12284
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Audio disabled?

#13 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:46 pm

Abysssos wrote:I think i wait for a new release canditate and hope it gets rechanged so its also compatible with Windows XP.
Doubtful. If you want it fixed, you'll need to help narrow down what caused it.

Post Reply