v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.
Message
Author
AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#1 Post by AndrewW » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:41 pm

New compile, no logs are generated. Just get:
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
Any idea where to look or what to try?

LGM-Doyle
Programmer
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:37 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#2 Post by LGM-Doyle » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:59 pm

Code: Select all

JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr
does not look like it is from the FreeOrion source code. Try looking where that is from.

User avatar
adrian_broher
Programmer
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am
Location: Germany

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#3 Post by adrian_broher » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:55 pm

> jack server is not running or cannot be started

I would guess that's related to JACK library http://jackaudio.org/ . However this is part of your distribution and we maybe use this only through the Freeorion OpenAL Soft dependency.
Resident code gremlin
Attached patches are released under GPL 2.0 or later.
Git author: Marcel Metz

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#4 Post by AndrewW » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:48 pm

Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:

build 2017-08-27.63d9181

Code: Select all

Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4685
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#5 Post by Dilvish » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:58 pm

AndrewW wrote:Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:
As noted above, this appears to be a problem with Jack. A quick search on your error messages comes up with this potential fix using some Jack setup utility, perhaps that will work for you also.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#6 Post by AndrewW » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:50 pm

Dilvish wrote:
AndrewW wrote:Was gone for a bit, just got back to this. With a new build, almost the same:
As noted above, this appears to be a problem with Jack. A quick search on your error messages comes up with this potential fix using some Jack setup utility, perhaps that will work for you also.
Thanks, hadn't gotten to searching yet. Alas still no go, does change the error at least:

Code: Select all

Cannot lock down 82274202 byte memory area (Cannot allocate memory)
Cannot lock down 82274202 byte memory area (Cannot allocate memory)
Cannot use real-time scheduling (RR/5)(1: Operation not permitted)
JackClient::AcquireSelfRealTime error
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'boost::exception_detail::clone_impl<boost::exception_detail::error_info_injector<boost::system::system_error> >'
  what():  bind: Address already in use
If I disable sound in the Options it just gives me the boost error.

When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.

Ophiuchus
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#7 Post by Ophiuchus » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:12 am

AndrewW wrote:

Code: Select all

  what():  bind: Address already in use
If I disable sound in the Options it just gives me the boost error.

When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.
But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#8 Post by AndrewW » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:16 pm

Ophiuchus wrote:But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?
Correct.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:28 pm

AndrewW wrote:When trying to start a game, can get to the Main Menu fine.
AndrewW wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:But you cant play a game even when you disable both sound and music?
Correct.
What does that mean specifically? What happens when you try to start a game? Are logs generated in this case? If so, post them.

Also try disabling autosaves, or enabling binary save files.

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#10 Post by AndrewW » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:42 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:What does that mean specifically? What happens when you try to start a game? Are logs generated in this case? If so, post them.

Also try disabling autosaves, or enabling binary save files.
I try either Single Player (after putting in settings) or Quickstart and I get a black screen, the error comes up on the console. No logs are created. Tried changing log level to trace, still no logs.

Saves disabled, no change.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12249
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#11 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:52 pm

If you don't get any log files, there's something else going wrong. Maybe check what user owns the binaries and what the write permissions are for directories where logs should be created?

If you build older versions, does it work? Until when?

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#12 Post by AndrewW » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:59 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:If you don't get any log files, there's something else going wrong. Maybe check what user owns the binaries and what the write permissions are for directories where logs should be created?
My user as usual and writeable. Just tried running as root to see, still no log files.
Geoff the Medio wrote:If you build older versions, does it work? Until when?
Haven't tried, but can give that a try.


Note the Boost error comes up as soon as the Galaxy Setup screen appears, get the black screen after that if using Single Player, Quickstart get the Boost error and a black screen.

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#13 Post by AndrewW » Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:01 pm

[build 2017-08-06.7ae15e0] - Same error and black screen.

Code: Select all

[build 2017-08-02.f7ba95b]

Messages / Empires appears
Creating AI Clients
Generating Universe

Console:
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for 4294967295, skipping unlock
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range'
  what():  _Map_base::at
Also getting with the cmake:

Code: Select all

-- Could NOT find cppcheck (missing:  CPPCHECK_EXECUTABLE) 
-- Could NOT find pycodestyle (missing:  PYCODESTYLE_EXECUTABLE) 
-- Could NOT find Doxygen (missing:  DOXYGEN_EXECUTABLE) 

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4685
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#14 Post by Dilvish » Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:55 pm

AndrewW wrote:No logs are created.
Just to double check, you are looking in the new-ish location for logs?
Also getting with the cmake:

Code: Select all

-- Could NOT find cppcheck (missing:  CPPCHECK_EXECUTABLE) 
-- Could NOT find pycodestyle (missing:  PYCODESTYLE_EXECUTABLE) 
-- Could NOT find Doxygen (missing:  DOXYGEN_EXECUTABLE) 
Those are optional, for style checking and automatic documentation generation, they don't affect the actual executables.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 767
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: v0.4.7+ build 2017-08-03.595b29f

#15 Post by AndrewW » Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:03 pm

Dilvish wrote:Just to double check, you are looking in the new-ish location for logs?
Errr, oops nope hadn't had to pull up a log in awhile, do remember it changing once upon a time though.
Dilvish wrote:Those are optional, for style checking and automatic documentation generation, they don't affect the actual executables.
Wasn't sure, thought I would mention it.
freeorion.log
(13.63 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
freeoriond.log
(24.77 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Post Reply