Cannot load game

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Silverionmox
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:30 pm

Cannot load game

#1 Post by Silverionmox » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:44 pm

Attempting to load a game sometimes results in a black screen with cursor. At other times (after quite a long time), results in being stuck at turn x (whatever the turn was of the saved game), with no specific data accessible just the generic tech tree. No stars are visible, just the starry background.

Build 2017-10-08.

Fresh installation. Starting a game works, however, and then playing is possible as normal. Saving works too. Loading does not.

I also had savegames from a previous installation on this system, so it did work at some point, but it didn't anymore.

Win 10 64 bit.
Graphics card updated. Intel drivers updated.
Logs attached.
Attachments
freeoriond.log
(38.23 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
freeorion.log
(47.93 KiB) Downloaded 18 times

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Cannot load game

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:37 am

To clarify, this occurs when loading saves from the same version they were saved with?

Does this occur with default (or any / every) galaxy setup config, including very few stars?

Does it make a difference if, in the options menu Other tab, you enable binary serialization and then start and save a game and load it, or disable compression with XML serialization (with binary off) and then start and save a game and load it?

Relevant bit in freeoriond.log:

Code: Select all

01:38:07.095875 [debug] server : SaveLoad.cpp:386 : Allocating buffers for XML deserialization...
01:38:07.397625 [error] server : SaveLoad.cpp:442 : LoadGame(...) failed!  Error: input stream error

Silverionmox
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:30 pm

Re: Cannot load game

#3 Post by Silverionmox » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:14 am

>o clarify, this occurs when loading saves from the same version they were saved with?

Both.

>Does this occur with default (or any / every) galaxy setup config, including very few stars?

Tried a setup with 20 stars and 2 AI: loading succeeded.

>Does it make a difference if, in the options menu Other tab, you enable binary serialization and then start and save a game and load it,

That worked, but it still took a veeeeeery long time.

>or disable compression with XML serialization (with binary off) and then start and save a game and load it?

That worked, but it still took a veeeeery long time.

A combination of both last options worked too, same speed.

All tests performed with the same running instance of the program without closing it and restarting, if that matters.

Is there anything more that can be done to reduce loading times?

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Cannot load game

#4 Post by Vezzra » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:47 am

What are your system specs?

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4720
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: Cannot load game

#5 Post by Dilvish » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:50 am

and how big of a galaxy (how many stars/systems) is the savegame for?

(and it strikes me now this and other other galaxy settings would be handy to have printed in the logs when a savegame file is loaded)
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Cannot load game

#6 Post by Vezzra » Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:48 am

Dilvish wrote:and how big of a galaxy (how many stars/systems) is the savegame for?
Silverionmox wrote:Tried a setup with 20 stars and 2 AI: loading succeeded.
Apparently the issue only turns up beyond a certain map size/number of AIs, meaning, when the savegame file exceeds a certain size. Which would be consistent with the other observations made, that turning on binary serialization or turning off compression also solves the issue. Looks like an issue with compressed XML saves, which is why I asked for the system specs. I suspect a low spec system, we had such issues reported before, but I thought Geoff had fixed those. Apparently not entirely...

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Cannot load game

#7 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:56 am

Vezzra wrote:Looks like an issue with compressed XML saves, which is why I asked for the system specs. I suspect a low spec system, we had such issues reported before, but I thought Geoff had fixed those. Apparently not entirely...
I can't fix the system not being able to allocate enough RAM to store the decompressed text from the save file. That being a possible problem is partly why the binary and uncompressed XML options exist; they can stream from disk without needing a buffer in memory to hold the whole compressed and uncompressed XML text so that the compressed buffer contents can be decompressed into the uncompressed buffer contents.

What's odd is the lack of lines in the log about reserving amounts of data in the buffers based on the info in the save, which includes lines about how much data was in the buffers used to store the compressed and uncompressed XML text. The loading code should be getting that from the uncompressed header's save preview section.

https://github.com/freeorion/freeorion/ ... d.cpp#L385

User avatar
Oberlus
Small Juggernaut
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: Cannot load game

#8 Post by Oberlus » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:30 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:What's odd is the lack of lines in the log about reserving amounts of data in the buffers based on the info in the save, which includes lines about how much data was in the buffers used to store the compressed and uncompressed XML text. The loading code should be getting that from the uncompressed header's save preview section.
So it is getting into the else clauses as if ignored_save_preview_data.uncompressed_text_size <= 0, right?

If Silverionmox didn't have this problem in the past (that's what I understood from his post), may it be that something is broken in the recent test builds?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Cannot load game

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Oct 19, 2017 2:04 pm

Oberlus wrote:So it is getting into the else clauses as if ignored_save_preview_data.uncompressed_text_size <= 0, right?
Seemingly. Feel free to test and report back, perhaps just by opening a recent compressed XML save and looking at what's in the header. (I can't access an FO install right now...)

Post Reply