Page 1 of 2

New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:12 am
by godel
I just got a new to me used and refurbished win 10 machine.
Dual core but otherwise good specs.
But I downloaded the latest and it crashed. Repeat. Repeat. \
What do I need to do to troubleshoot this?
I turned off a few privacy snoops, would that cause this?

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:47 am
by Geoff the Medio
Delete the contents of C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\FreeOrion then try to run FreeOrion. If it still crashes, check that location for freeorion.log and if present, post it here. If there isn't one, try running cmd.exe and navigating to the directory where FreeOrion is installed, and note any output to the console window, and post it here.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 4:31 pm
by godel
Sorry I took so long getting on this.
Deleted stuff, still will not run, got log file.
See below

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 4:36 pm
by Geoff the Medio

Code: Select all

Unable to load texture "C:/Program Files (x86)/FreeOrion/default/data/art/splash.png"
reason: Insufficient resources to create requested OpenGL texture
Looks like a graphics driver problem.

You could try replacing that file with a much smaller one (load in paint or similar, resize, save), but I doubt that is a viable solution, given that this isn't a ridiculously large image already.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 9:44 pm
by Dilvish
Closing all your other applications might also help.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:03 pm
by godel
Dang, this is my newer and upgraded (slightly) PC.
FreeOrion has run on many (presumed) lesser machines.
OK, back to doing it on a linux mint machine.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:22 pm
by adrian_broher
Try installing the driver from your graphics card vendor.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:45 am
by godel
Still checking on problem.
Orion will not work off of a fresh boot.
System (control panel) does not show a bad driver anywhere.
And here is my system information:
OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name WIN10SEAN
System Manufacturer Dell Inc.
System Model OptiPlex 760
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz, 2926 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Dell Inc. A16, 8/6/2013
SMBIOS Version 2.5
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode Legacy
BaseBoard Manufacturer Dell Inc.
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role SOHO Server
Secure Boot State Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.16299.248"
User Name WIN10SEAN\admin
Time Zone Pacific Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 7.84 GB
Available Physical Memory 6.08 GB
Total Virtual Memory 9.09 GB
Available Virtual Memory 7.38 GB
Page File Space 1.25 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Virtualization-based security Not enabled
Device Encryption Support Reasons for failed automatic device encryption: TPM is not usable, PCR7 binding is not supported, Hardware Security Test Interface failed and device is not InstantGo, Un-allowed DMA capable bus/device(s) detected, TPM is not usable
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions No
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware No
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:47 am
by godel
no graphics card (though I might check), dell 760 motherboard video, I believe.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:38 pm
by godel
Del software scanned my system.
Memory error??
Recommended next steps Clear results
Hardware failure
Replace Memory
Your Memory is operating outside of normal parameters and should be replaced. This system no longer carries a hardware warranty. To purchase a replacement memory, please visit Dell Spare Parts for a compatible replacement part.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:30 pm
by Dilvish
godel wrote:Recommended next steps ... Replace Memory
If that test result repeats itself, the solution is not too bad. Some laptops make it easier than others to replace their memory, but I seem to remember having done it on a dell laptop some years back and it wasn't too bad, just google around for some video walk-thru specific to your model. And depending on what kind and how much memory you need, it might be as cheap as $10-$20.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:12 pm
by godel
intel check does not note any new drivers for that machine.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:40 pm
by adrian_broher
godel wrote:no graphics card (though I might check), dell 760 motherboard video, I believe.
The fact that this is a Dell 760 with an Intel builtin graphic card (GMA 4500, which grabs a part of regular memory as video memory) doesn't give me high hopes that the game will ever work on this device.

Anyway:
intel check does not note any new drivers for that machine.
You should probably check on the Intel homepage for new drivers, as the logs you previously posted indicate that the driver only provides OpenGL 1.1, which can only be true when you install the standard Windows provided default drivers. But given the Intel page a quick glance didn't show any driver for Windows 10, probably because it's so horribly outdated.

Depending on the pc case form factor it is probably easier to get an old AMD or NVIDIA card and install that into your PC.

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:47 pm
by Oberlus
Maybe related to this issue, I've read somewhere that Win10 preallocates a lot of memory (2.5 GB or so for a 4 GB system) at startup for acceleration purposes (that people disables to get more responsive systems :roll:). This "feature" is called "Superfetch Service" and can be disabled (there are tutorials on it on Inet).
Could this be restricting the available memory for the video card and FO?

Re: New win 10, orion does not run

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:50 pm
by Dilvish
adrian_broher wrote:The fact that this is a Dell 760 with an Intel builtin graphic card (GMA 4500, which grabs a part of regular memory as video memory) doesn't give me high hopes that the game will ever work on this device.
I think we can have a fair bit of hope at least, it seems like the real problem is most likely just that the memory chips are actually failing.

On my windows laptop the integrated graphics are claiming 2GB of shared memory, but that's with a resolution of 1920x1080. And pulling up an FO game with 300 systems and a dozen AIs, 60 turns into a game Windows Task Manager is reporting that the server and AIs are all claiming only around 1 MB each, and the human client is claiming a bit over 100MB, with the grand total memory use of about 120 MB, pretty light really.