[solved] Can not start game - Server connect to self fails

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
josch-hh
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:30 pm

[solved] Can not start game - Server connect to self fails

#1 Post by josch-hh » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:46 pm

Hi friends,
in Short: I can not start the game. Errormessage "Can not start server. A server is already running" - via Continue, New, Quickstart or Load

In Long:
what: The Logfile shows the game starts a server at 127.0.0.1 and then imidiately tries to start another one,
where: Fresh install of 0.4.8 (Buid 2018-08-23) on WIndows 10 64bit

Code: Select all

21:58:36.974695 [debug] log : LoggerWithOptionsDB.cpp:105 : Configure log source "network" from optionsDB using threshold debug
21:58:36.974695 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:335 : Attempt to connect to server at one of these addresses:
21:58:36.974695 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:337 :   tcp::resolver::iterator host_name: 127.0.0.1  address: 127.0.0.1  port: 12346
21:58:36.976679 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:356 : Connected to server at host_name: 127.0.0.1  address: 127.0.0.1  port: 12346
21:58:36.976679 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:380 : Connecting to server took 1 ms.
21:58:36.976679 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:383 : ConnectToServer() : starting networking thread
21:58:36.976679 [error] client : HumanClientApp.cpp:444 : Can't start local server because a server is already connecting at 127.0.0.0.
21:58:40.136774 [debug] client : HumanClientApp.cpp:721 : HumanClientApp::LoadSinglePlayerGame
21:58:40.136774 [debug] client : HumanClientApp.cpp:756 : HumanClientApp::LoadSinglePlayerGame() not already in a game, so don't need to end it
21:58:40.136774 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:335 : Attempt to connect to server at one of these addresses:
21:58:40.136774 [debug] network : ClientNetworking.cpp:337 :   tcp::resolver::iterator host_name: 127.0.0.1  address: 127.0.0.1  port: 12346
21:58:40.136774 [error] client : HumanClientApp.cpp:444 : Can't start local server because a server is already connecting at 127.0.0.0.
21:59:13.755794 [debug] client : HumanClientApp.cpp:721 : HumanClientApp::LoadSinglePlayerGame
Update 09/21st:
* I installed over a (deinstalled and hanging) old installation witouth manually removing the AppData/Roaming/Freeorion files first - maybe that was an issue
* I uninstallied 0.48 and manually deleted and reinstalled 0.4.8 -> Now I get the error "no server found" instead.

SOLUTION:
* after cleaning the "roaming" files on all users in the system and restarting, it worked :)

Any Ideas ?

Josch
Last edited by josch-hh on Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: Can not start game - Server connect to self fails

#2 Post by Dilvish » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:05 am

You've got an orphaned server process. Open up the task manager, showing all processes not just applications, and kill any instances of freeorion, freeoriond, and freeorionca (on Windows you'll have some caps in there).
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

josch-hh
Space Krill
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 7:30 pm

Re: Can not start game - Server connect to self fails

#3 Post by josch-hh » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:26 am

Dilvish wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:05 am
You've got an orphaned server process.
Hi Dilvish - been there, done that, got no universe :-( This behaviour happens right after installation.

I did some more testing and updated the original post

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4967
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Can not start game - Server connect to self fails

#4 Post by Vezzra » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:49 am

Hm, sounds like some other process already uses port 12346. Try launching FO from the command line and specify the "--network.message.port" command line option, followed by a different port number. E.g.:

Code: Select all

> FreeOrion.exe --network.message.port 12390
That will cause FO to use the specified port number for network communications between server and client(s).

Aside from that, please provide the entire logfiles ("freeorion.log" and "freeoriond.log" if it gets created at all) after a failed attempt at starting a game (zip them up and attach them to a reply here).

Post Reply