Error loading hulls (r3239)

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Error loading hulls (r3239)

#1 Post by cazfi » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:08 am

Running on 64bit Ubuntu Jaunty

After some time of universe creation (I suppose it's already created and game proceeds to next step) number of error messages is written to console where game was launched and nothing more happens. It seems to me that latter errors are just consequence of the first one which reads:
error at or after the indicated point on line 1:
Hull
^

User avatar
OndrejR
Space Dragon
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#2 Post by OndrejR » Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:28 am

I have no problem with r3239 on 64bit Debian testing.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#3 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:49 pm

Make sure your config.xml is pointing to the latest / SVN version of the resource directory, and not another older resource directory you might have elsewhere on the system. Deleting config.xml will ensure it's regenerated, if you prefer that.

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#4 Post by cazfi » Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:41 pm

I did 'rm -Rf ~/.freeorion' before second test, but same errors happened.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#5 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:07 pm

Try going into options from the main menu, and on the directories tab, make sure the resouce directories is pointing where it should for the version you're running.

Make sure you're actually running the latest version you thought you were, which might not be the case if you installed and built different versions.

Also, please attach .log files in ~./freeorion from after producing this crash / error.

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#6 Post by cazfi » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:13 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:Try going into options from the main menu, and on the directories tab, make sure the resouce directories is pointing where it should for the version you're running.
Checked. Seems to be correct.
Geoff the Medio wrote:Make sure you're actually running the latest version you thought you were, which might not be the case if you installed and built different versions.
It displays correct revision number in the window title bar.
Geoff the Medio wrote:Also, please attach .log files in ~./freeorion from after producing this crash / error.
Attached. This is after I updated to latest svn, revision 3247.
Attachments
fo_r3247_logs.zip
(8.28 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#7 Post by Geoff the Medio » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:24 pm

In your config.xml there is a line:

Code: Select all

<resource-dir>/home/cazfi/freeorion/install/share/freeorion/default</resource-dir>
The "install" part there suggests to me that it's looking at an installed older version, not the SVN version of the resource directory. Is that really where you checked it out from SVN...?

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#8 Post by cazfi » Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:26 pm

Right. It works when run inside build directory, not as installed.

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#9 Post by cazfi » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:06 pm

Problem was caused by 'scons install' not overwriting existing files and not even warning about such files. Further confusion was caused by later tests (with install to completely empty directory tree) actually using this broken tree since it was saved to config.xml

I also noticed that when doing 'scons install' from svn checkout (and not export), also '.svn' directories under 'default' get installed.

User avatar
OndrejR
Space Dragon
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:00 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#10 Post by OndrejR » Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:41 am

tzlaine made cmake build for FreeOrion and it works. Scons is probably outdated.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#11 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:49 am

cazfi wrote:Further confusion was caused by later tests (with install to completely empty directory tree) actually using this broken tree since it was saved to config.xml
Hence my suggesting you delete config.xml... I thought you tried that, though?

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#12 Post by cazfi » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:41 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:Hence my suggesting you delete config.xml... I thought you tried that, though?
I did at one point, but forgot to do it again before further tests...

cazfi
Space Floater
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#13 Post by cazfi » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:43 pm

OndrejR wrote:tzlaine made cmake build for FreeOrion and it works. Scons is probably outdated.
http://www.freeorion.org/index.php/Compile_In_Linux instructs to use scons. I thought it's the official build method.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12456
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#14 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:58 pm

cazfi wrote:
OndrejR wrote:tzlaine made cmake build for FreeOrion and it works. Scons is probably outdated.
http://www.freeorion.org/index.php/Compile_In_Linux instructs to use scons. I thought it's the official build method.
As far as I know, it scons still is the "official" build method. I think the CMake stuff is still experimental, even if successful for some.

User avatar
tzlaine
Programming Lead Emeritus
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 1:33 pm

Re: Error loading hulls (r3239)

#15 Post by tzlaine » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:09 pm

Geoff the Medio wrote:
cazfi wrote:
OndrejR wrote:tzlaine made cmake build for FreeOrion and it works. Scons is probably outdated.
http://www.freeorion.org/index.php/Compile_In_Linux instructs to use scons. I thought it's the official build method.
As far as I know, it scons still is the "official" build method. I think the CMake stuff is still experimental, even if successful for some.
I consider CMake to be the new official build system for Linux. I've updated the Wiki page above to reflect this.

Post Reply