Frame Rate Issues

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report on GitHub. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderator: Oberlus

j4l
Space Krill

Frame Rate Issues

#1 Post by j4l »

Hi, i started playing freeorion with the new 0.4.2 5771 and have similarly problems with the overall performance. I'm paying a small game with 61 stars and 3 AI on typical
My I5 Win 7 64 bit Notebook has a onboard/dedicated gpu switch. So i can play either with the intel hd 3000 or with an amd radeon 6630M.
So what i can say, is that the game is awfully slow with both cards. Frame range is betwean 2 and 25. Playing with the AMD card makes all fans rotating on max. So the system is very busy.
Btw. a nice sideeffect is, that i can't quit the game on fullscreen with the intel hd. it simply hangs.

PS: Don't get me wrong. Playing is quite fun

Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin

Re: Frame Rate Issues

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio »

j4l wrote:...similarly problems with the overall performance...
Turn off galaxy gas and starfields, and try optimized system rendering on and off. Graphics drivers updates might also help. The Radeon 6630M is new enough that it shouldn't be problematically slow for reasonable galaxy sizes, so I have to assume there are driver issues with fixed pipeline OpenGL causing your issues.

j4l
Space Krill

#3 Post by j4l »

thx for the quick answer. i did some investigations based on your answer.
i can only use sony hybrid driver to be able to switch bitween the gpus. My installed driverpackage is the latest based and on intel 8.15.10.2769 and amd AMD Catalyst 11.6 which isn't very uptodate. Deactiviting galaxy gas starfields and optimized system rendering helps a little bit. Anyway the frame rate stilll drops dramaticly when double clicking a system

Geoff the Medio

#4 Post by Geoff the Medio »