fr_stringtable

Discuss, plan, and make Translations for FreeOrion
Post Reply
Message
Author
alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

fr_stringtable

#1 Post by alchemy » Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:56 pm

Hi,

i try to help for french translation, and i think it's better to open a new topic because others are old.
i'm not very good in english, but i like this game from the first commercial version... very old ! hahaha

i have many questions of course, but the first is : how to save my work without crossing another work.
so i checkout the v2054 of SVN, and i began to update it.
I save a new version not completed in the wikipedia because it's not a good idea to have it in two localisation.
http://www.freeorion.org/index.php/Fre_stringtable.txt

so when someone commit it on SVN, tell it to me in reply of this topic, please.

if someone work on translation too, we can exchange by this topic to coordinate us.

i'm working again to finish the translation, but it's word to word, so the second step is to improve it in a better french, but more distant than the english version.

i try to use the same vocabulary than the first men who began to traduce it.
starlane = lien hyperspacial
supply = approvisionnement / provision

some french caracters are not supported by the game : ç (cédille)

it seems that some english table entries are not in french file stringtable ? like TURN_BEGIN in ## turn progress ##
Is there maximum length for strings ?
Is there some caracters who can block the access of an entry of the stringtable ?

thx for men who like this game.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12268
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: fr_stringtable

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:14 pm

alchemy wrote:so i checkout the v2054 of SVN
Why 2054? The latest revision is 4745 as of this writing, and you should be updating against that version of the english stringtable.
some french caracters are not supported by the game : ç (cédille)
It works for me... I added a ç to TURN_PROGRESS_PHASE_ORDERS and it shows up.
FO_cedille.png
cédille
FO_cedille.png (5.94 KiB) Viewed 2256 times
it seems that some english table entries are not in french file stringtable ? like TURN_BEGIN in ## turn progress ##
Yes, only eng_stringtable.txt is updated by developers. Other translations will need to add / remove / change strings to match the english one.
Is there maximum length for strings ?
In general, no. The space in the UI is usually adjusted to fit the english, though, and extremely long strings could potentially cause problems, but that shouldn't be a concern for legitimate translation efforts.
Is there some caracters who can block the access of an entry of the stringtable ?
I'm not sure what you mean, but any UTF-8 character should be loaded in, though not all will display properly.

alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#3 Post by alchemy » Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:01 pm

sorry, the log said 4054 (and not 2054)
fr_stringtable_log.png
fr_stringtable_log.png (202.78 KiB) Viewed 2256 times
so, if i understand, i need to match the english entries (v4743) with the french entries (v4054) to detect the new entries. what is the better way to do that ?

for the "ç" i used it in the first word : Francais => Français and the game don't like it. but it's not really important.

for my last question. The game doesn't detect my BLD_SHIPYARD_BASE traduction. i thank it was because on the previous description we have simple quote between triple quote but it's not. so i don't know for the moment why the game don't use my translation of this entrie.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12268
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: fr_stringtable

#4 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:25 pm

alchemy wrote:sorry, the log said 4054 (and not 2054)
Ah, OK. Looks like 4054 was the last revision in which fr_stringtable.txt was modified. That number isn't important. What you need to do is make sure every entry in the latest eng_stringtable.txt has a matching entry in fr_stringtable.txt. How you do that is up to you.
for the "ç" i used it in the first word : Francais => Français and the game don't like it.
The first line is a special case. For reasons I don't understand, it needs to only use plain ascii characters. The rest of the file should be fine with extended characters used in the stringtable entries.
The game doesn't detect my BLD_SHIPYARD_BASE traduction. i thank it was because on the previous description we have simple quote between triple quote but it's not. so i don't know for the moment why the game don't use my translation of this entrie.
The presence of a ' inside the ''' for BLD_IMPERIAL_PALACE_DESC shouldn't cause a problem, but if you think it does, replace the whole imperial palace description (including the '''s) with a single line of text.

CryoFlo FR
Space Krill
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: France (Alsace)

Re: fr_stringtable

#5 Post by CryoFlo FR » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:20 pm

Hello,

I am a new player, and I really like FreeOrion. I'm french too, and it was very difficult to understand how the game works at the very beginning so I contacted alchemy in order to ask him some questions but also to help him with the translation, because I think this game has a huge potential, and it would be sad that french players could not enjoy it. So I just want to inform you that we may restart the translation, and that we may have some questions about it.

Alchemy also proposed to write a tutorial, an FAQ or a help page in french in the wiki, and I wonder if that could be possible and if it's ok with you.

Voilà ^^

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: fr_stringtable

#6 Post by eleazar » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:44 pm

CryoFlo FR wrote:Alchemy also proposed to write a tutorial, an FAQ or a help page in french in the wiki, and I wonder if that could be possible and if it's ok with you.
Of course-- that's what the wiki is for. Most of the English tutorial/help is put together by non-developers.

You'll need a wiki account to edit it i think. If you have trouble with that talk to Geoff the Medio.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12268
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: fr_stringtable

#7 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:29 am

eleazar wrote:You'll need a wiki account to edit it i think. If you have trouble with that talk to Geoff the Medio.
Indeed, I believe public wiki account registration is disabled. If you want to edit, send me a private message on the forums with a desired username and an email address to register the account with.

alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#8 Post by alchemy » Mon May 07, 2012 8:48 pm

to help for detection of new english "flag" in old translation stringtable.txt
i try to do this macro
freeorion_macro_c.zip
(181.5 KiB) Downloaded 61 times
i'm sorry because it's not open office (but the other)
and because there are probably bugs
but it seems to work

may be some real computer specialist may improve it and translate it in openbasic

alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#9 Post by alchemy » Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:18 am

translation not done but uptodate
Attachments
fr_stringtable.txt
(148.69 KiB) Downloaded 59 times

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12268
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: fr_stringtable

#10 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:37 pm

Could you post that you release any translation you post under the CC-BY-SA 3.0 license?

alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#11 Post by alchemy » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:06 pm

yes of course. it's under same licence of en_stringtable, and others versions i could try to do (because i don't finish to translate) is under same licence.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12268
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: fr_stringtable

#12 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:46 pm

What's with this entry:

Code: Select all

OPTIONS_PAGE_UI
UI__

alchemy
Krill Swarm
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#13 Post by alchemy » Sat Jun 30, 2012 5:34 pm

it's only marks for anyone who help me to traduce.

someone explain it on wiki, but they use stars *.
But the new version with the double star ** seems not work so i replace it by double underscore and it works)

sorry. so, i join the same file without marks
Attachments
fr_stringtable.txt
(148.1 KiB) Downloaded 65 times

shivu

Re: fr_stringtable

#14 Post by shivu » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:45 am

Hi everybody,

I am new hier and I am trying to translate the file eng_stringtable.txt.
I hope my upload will work.

shivu
Attachments
fr_stringtable.zip
(82.51 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

hpfx
Space Krill
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:13 pm

Re: fr_stringtable

#15 Post by hpfx » Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:21 am

shivu wrote:Hi everybody,

I am new hier and I am trying to translate the file eng_stringtable.txt.
I hope my upload will work.

shivu
Hi shivu,
few remarks :

you changed "crédit" by "collaborateur" ("crédit" was french, et c'est plus juste je trouve)

"Sauvegarder le jeu" should be "Sauvegarder la partie"

"Réglages divers de l'interface UI" you added "UI", it's pointless "UI" means "User Interface",
then your translation becomes "Réglages divers de l'interface interface utilisateur"...

why did you change "Polices de caractères" by "Caractères" ? every soft call it "police de caractere", even ms word. caractere is something else.

also,
TT_BUILDING
"%1% Construction %2%"
was better than your : "%1% Immeuble %2%"

you translate "Species" by two different words :
TT_SPECIES => Espèces
MULTIPLAYER_PLAYER_LIST_STARTING_SPECIES => Race initiale


TECH_WND_TECH_QUEUED
"En attente"
was better than your "File d'attente"
on dit bien que "tel element de recherche est en attente", mais la phrase "tel element est file d'attente" n'est pas terrible...



then, I would not use this version, it's inconsistant, you focused you effort to user interface (by changing existing translation which was better than your). sorry to be rude.

I hope than dev won't take you file as it is.

Post Reply