Terraform Exobot colonies

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Message
Author
User avatar
EricF
Space Dragon
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am

Terraform Exobot colonies

#1 Post by EricF » Fri Aug 05, 2016 12:49 pm

FreeOrion_2016-08-02.0cab326_Test_Win32_Setup.exe

Another feature I would like to see is the ability to Terraform planets with Exobot colonies so that I could build a colony there with a different species. Once the new colony is built the Exobot population could be sent to another Exobot colony or turned into Infrastructure if no other Exobot colony exists.

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#2 Post by MatGB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 1:12 pm

You can terraform a colony with exobots, but it'll move the environment type towards an exobot preferred type.

At some point I'd like to come up with some form of remote terraforming but that was removed from the game before as it didn't work properly. But it's a lower priority at the moment.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

User avatar
EricF
Space Dragon
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#3 Post by EricF » Fri Aug 05, 2016 2:00 pm

Sorry I wasn't clear. What I would like is to colonize a Hostile planet with Exobots(would be adequate for them) and then have the Exobots Terraform it towards a planet type that is not Hostile to my species. I could then Evacuate the planet of the Exobots(or they die off) and then build a normal colony there. So instead of having a large Exobot population the Exobots just prep the planet for colonization with another species.

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#4 Post by MatGB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 3:21 pm

This is actually a relatively good idea, not sure how it can be scripted or how it would be best scripted but it would actually work.

Needs some working through but would be a cool mechanic and the current Evacuation mechanic could be combined with it once done. Think you'd need to create new specialist exobot species for it to work with the current mechanics, but different buildings could be created to work with it.

Any scripters fancy taking this on and expanding it into something workable?
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

AndrewW
Juggernaut
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:15 pm

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#5 Post by AndrewW » Fri Aug 05, 2016 4:16 pm

Alternately the ability to terraform an outpost into whatever planet type you desire.

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#6 Post by Vezzra » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:00 pm

It's actually quite simple: the current terraforming buildings determine the target environment by the current species of the colony. If you want to "manually" determine the target environment, we need to script different buildings, one for each possible environment (and name them accordingly, a "Terraformer" would be the building that changed the environment to "terran", for "ocean" it would be the "Oceanformer", "inferno" could be "Infernator" etcpepe ;)).

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#7 Post by MatGB » Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:53 pm

Vezzra wrote:It's actually quite simple: the current terraforming buildings determine the target environment by the current species of the colony. If you want to "manually" determine the target environment, we need to script different buildings, one for each possible environment (and name them accordingly, a "Terraformer" would be the building that changed the environment to "terran", for "ocean" it would be the "Oceanformer", "inferno" could be "Infernator" etcpepe ;)).
All true, then we could completely dump the "remote" idea and allow them to be built on outposts. They'd still need the current cost modifiers though.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#8 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:33 pm

Vezzra wrote:...a "Terraformer" would be the building that changed the environment to "terran", for "ocean" it would be the "Oceanformer", "inferno" could be "Infernator" etcpepe ;)
It should also be possible to script buildings that terraform "clockwise" and "counter clockwise".

User avatar
Bromstarzan
Dyson Forest
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#9 Post by Bromstarzan » Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:57 am

This thought occurred to me as well. In fact, I was not sure if it could be done or not with the current state of FO. This answers my question.
It would indeed be an interesting feature. I was also experimenting with the thought of having colonies of combined species utilizing the sum of talent they make (too complex to handle the mechanics, I guess). In order to combine 2 (or more) species one must research certain diplomatic/cultural levels :mrgreen:
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |

User avatar
Sloth
Content Scripter
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:28 am

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#10 Post by Sloth » Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:47 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:It should also be possible to script buildings that terraform "clockwise" and "counter clockwise".
That would be the solution with the least clutter. As for the images...
Attachments
terraform_revert.png
terraform_revert.png (20.49 KiB) Viewed 889 times
terraform.png
terraform.png (10.37 KiB) Viewed 889 times
All released under the GNU GPL 2.0 and Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 licences.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#11 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:53 pm

Bromstarzan wrote:I was also experimenting with the thought of having colonies of combined species [...] In order to combine 2 (or more) species one must research certain diplomatic/cultural levels :mrgreen:
Having only one species per planet was a basic / very early design decision, to avoid a lot of potential complexity with relatively little strategic gameplay benefit, based on experiences playing MoO3.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12277
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#12 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:54 pm

Sloth wrote:
Geoff the Medio wrote:It should also be possible to script buildings that terraform "clockwise" and "counter clockwise".
That would be the solution with the least clutter. As for the images...
Suitably detailed tooltip descriptions and pedia descriptions would be needed.

User avatar
Bromstarzan
Dyson Forest
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 9:56 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#13 Post by Bromstarzan » Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:26 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:Having only one species per planet was a basic / very early design decision, to avoid a lot of potential complexity with relatively little strategic gameplay benefit, based on experiences playing MoO3.
I understand this comletely. Seems like a wise decision.
| i7 2600K quad@3.40Ghz | GTX 560 Ti | RAM: 16GB | PSU: 750w | W7 x64 | LG1680x1050+Acer 1280x1024 |

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#14 Post by Vezzra » Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:36 am

Sloth wrote:
Geoff the Medio wrote:It should also be possible to script buildings that terraform "clockwise" and "counter clockwise".
That would be the solution with the least clutter.
I'm a bit torn. True, you'd need less buildings, but the required explanation about how those buildings work and are supposed to be used, and reasonable fluff/lore explanations that don't sound too silly will probably be more difficult than when we just have one building for each environment. Another issue with the clockwise/counter-clockwise terraformers will be when do they stop? Either we stick with the current approach that each building just performs one step and then removes itself, so that the player has to queue one building for each step (a bit clunky IMO). Or the building has to generate a proper sitrep each time the planet gets terraformed one step, so the player can go in and scrap the terraformer once the planet reaches the desired environment.

Issues we can avoid at the cost of having just a few more buildings (I mean, it's not that we have dozens of environments). Which is not that much clutter IMO, so I'm not so sure if the clockwise/counter-clockwise terraformers approach is the better one. The explanation how to use the terraformers and the lore/fluff texts will be simpler/clearer/more straightforward, and to terraform a planet the player just has to select the building for the desired target environment, done. Building cost and time can be made dependent on distance to the current environment, so the current mechanic (that the "farther away" a planets environment is from the desired one, the longer it takes and the more expensive the terraforming will be) will be preserved.

Of course that's probably also a matter of personal taste/preference, at least to a certain degree.

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Terraform Exobot colonies

#15 Post by MatGB » Sun Aug 07, 2016 3:36 pm

In terms of production queue clutter (which, pending a way to sort/filter it better can be a problem), you could do it with two buildings, say a "enviroforming project" which does the main bulk of the work and then a terraform/waterform/enswampifyer series of buildings that can only be built if the is a project built or enqueued. Using the enqueue requirements for shipyards has worked rather well, expanding the use is fine, and if each building complements the other it would be an easy UI.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Post Reply