Ship

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
EricF
Space Dragon
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am

Ship

#1 Post by EricF » Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:41 am

I have been playing the latest test build.
2016-08-09


OK, something strange happened.
Turn 85
I sent an outpost ship to a system.
It would not let me found an outpost.
The system was greyed out.
I left the system and then came back.
When I came back my outpost ship was
destroyed.
It was destroyed by what the game described as "SHIP"
It had a stealth value of 65.5k
Yes that is correct, no mistake on my part, 65.5 THOUSAND.
The info on the 'ship' was 0 attack 0 structure 0 detection
yet it still destroyed my outpost ship.
Is this normal, or is this a bug?
Afterward it disappeared and was apparently replaced by a large Snowflake.
Weird.
Any help?

dbenage-cx
Programmer
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:08 am

Re: Ship

#2 Post by dbenage-cx » Sat Aug 13, 2016 2:35 pm

The 'SHIP' was not visible to you at all (stealth too high). The 65.5k value is the game's way of saying "we don't know".
I am guessing an Ion Storm was passing near the system, which both increases the stealth and reduces the detection of ships/monsters.

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4608
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Ship

#3 Post by Vezzra » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:42 pm

What dbenage said. Your ship has apparently been destroyed by a space monster it could not detect. The ion storm explanation sounds very plausible, it would also account for why you could not place that outpost (planets stealthed due to the storm).

So no bug, everything works as intended.

That said, we need to replace that 65K stealth value display. This obviously causes confusion. The UI should give some clear indication that you've been attacked by something you could not see, you only know something was there (because it blew you up), but don't know what. So, instead of displaying 65k and zeros, maybe display a "?" or "unknown" or something like that?

User avatar
EricF
Space Dragon
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2016 10:12 am

Re: Ship

#4 Post by EricF » Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:52 pm

Vezzra wrote: So, instead of displaying 65k and zeros, maybe display a "?" or "unknown" or something like that?
I agree. This would have been less confusing than what did happen.

It still seems kind of odd that I couldn't create an outpost.
I understand the game mechanic I just don't agree with it. :)

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Ship

#5 Post by MatGB » Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:22 pm

I think the "Ship" needs to be called "Unknown Ship" as well, immediately clearer.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Doc Tectonic
Krill Swarm
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 3:24 am

Re: Ship

#6 Post by Doc Tectonic » Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:20 am

Vezzra wrote:That said, we need to replace that 65K stealth value display. This obviously causes confusion. The UI should give some clear indication that you've been attacked by something you could not see, you only know something was there (because it blew you up), but don't know what. So, instead of displaying 65k and zeros, maybe display a "?" or "unknown" or something like that?
I think "?" would be a good choice. It will fit everywhere a number would and its meaning is pretty obvious.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12247
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Ship

#7 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:00 pm

The problem is not what to display for an unknown value; it is how to tell the client that the value is unknown while still telling the client that there is a ship known to be there.

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4608
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Ship

#8 Post by Vezzra » Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:10 pm

Wouldn't defining a specific value (e.g. 65535) as indicator for "unknown" work? Any stat that has this value would display whatever text/symbol we want to use for "unknown" instead of the value itself.

Post Reply