Shield recovery

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Shield recovery

#1 Post by defaultuser » Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:48 pm

Playing 0.4.6 stable.

It's always seemed like it took ship shields a little while to recover from a molecular cloud. But what are the actual expectations, and does the following seem right?

I had a large fleet of Etty ships, all with robotic shields. Passed through a small molecular cloud, so shields went down of course. The fleet moved well away, but at least three turns after clearing it most ships still don't have shields. However, one has recovered and has the full shielding for the fleet. So a bunch of ships have 0, one has 12. Wouldn't it be with robotic shields that they should all have the same shield level?

Image below. The small cloud above Amzidiske is the one that knocked down the shields. As you can see, the fleet is well away from that and has been for enough turns to invade another world and move from that. The ship display shows the one ship that has shields.
shields.png
shields.png (232.54 KiB) Viewed 177 times

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Shield recovery

#2 Post by MatGB » Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:02 pm

Theoretically one turn both not in the cloud and not in combat should do it for all ships, but agree it doesn't always work like that and I've never reliably replicated it.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: Shield recovery

#3 Post by defaultuser » Sat Oct 01, 2016 6:50 pm

Hmm, not in combat. That might be an explanation. I was in mop-up mode, and the fleet was moving out the same turn as troops dropped, on to the next system. I'll keep that in mind.

Post Reply