Alt-C broken

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
UrshMost
Space Kraken
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Location: Great White North Eh

Alt-C broken

#1 Post by UrshMost » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:26 pm

In the build 2016-10-3, alt-c (to turn on the distance circle) works for the first system that I activate it on, but then will only turn on or off for that system. I am unable to activate it on another system.
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Alt-C broken

#2 Post by Vezzra » Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:00 am

What happens if you turn it on, and then select another system? Does the circle stay at the system that has been selected when you turned it on, does it disappear or does it move to the newly selected system?

UrshMost
Space Kraken
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Location: Great White North Eh

Re: Alt-C broken

#3 Post by UrshMost » Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:04 pm

After testing some more, i have found that;

If I single click on a system and press Alt-c, it works as you would expect. I can then click on another system the circle moves with the system focus and I can turn it on or off.

If I double click on a system and press Alt-c, it turns on and off for that system but cannot be moved to other systems, except;

- if I change the zoom, in which case the circle will jump to the current system but will now be stuck on that system, or

- if I click on a ship, it reverts back to normal, following the system focus.
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Alt-C broken

#4 Post by Vezzra » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:01 pm

Just tried to reproduce the issue, and found that the problem isn't double-clicking a system, but the production screen (which gets opened when you double-click on a system).

The problem is simply that when the production screen is open, the distance circle gets displayed for the system that has been selected when the production screen has been opened. Even if you open the production screen, then select another system and only after that switch on the distance circle, it gets displayed for the system that has been selected when opening the production screen, not the system that has been selected when switching on the circle.

Once you close the production screen, the distance circle immediately jumps to the selected system.

At least that is how it works on my system.

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Alt-C broken

#5 Post by Vezzra » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:14 pm


UrshMost
Space Kraken
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Location: Great White North Eh

Re: Alt-C broken

#6 Post by UrshMost » Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:48 pm

Vezzra wrote:Just tried to reproduce the issue, and found that the problem isn't double-clicking a system, but the production screen (which gets opened when you double-click on a system).

The problem is simply that when the production screen is open, the distance circle gets displayed for the system that has been selected when the production screen has been opened. Even if you open the production screen, then select another system and only after that switch on the distance circle, it gets displayed for the system that has been selected when opening the production screen, not the system that has been selected when switching on the circle.

Once you close the production screen, the distance circle immediately jumps to the selected system.

At least that is how it works on my system.
That makes sense, and matches what I'm seeing.
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4674
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Alt-C broken

#7 Post by Vezzra » Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:29 am

Fix has been merged: 8225f1d.

@UrshMost, the next test builds will already contain the fix, please report back if that solved the issue for you.

Post Reply