Any chance of a monster here?

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Any chance of a monster here?

#1 Post by defaultuser » Sat Dec 03, 2016 12:18 am

Occasionally one gets a layout where there is only one connector to homeworld (see below). I have never seen a monster sitting at that first world. Is that just luck so far, or is there a rule that prevents a monster being generated at that position?
fost.png
fost.png (190.15 KiB) Viewed 276 times

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Any chance of a monster here?

#2 Post by MatGB » Sat Dec 03, 2016 4:57 am

For the most part, it's theoretically prevented, for example the Ancient Ruins placement code contains the following clause

Code: Select all

        Not WithinStarlaneJumps jumps = 2 condition = And [
            System
            Contains And [
                Planet
                OwnedBy affiliation = AnyEmpire
]
Which prevents it being too close to you at start, most specials have similar and IIRC the monsters code does the same.

However, I've never relied on that fully so tend to avoid sending my initial colony ship blind.

On the other hand I suspect if there was something nasty blocking me off completely I'd probably give up on that game—so really, if it does happen, report it as an issue with the generation settings so we can try to gate whatever the problem was.
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: Any chance of a monster here?

#3 Post by defaultuser » Sat Dec 03, 2016 5:47 am

It would depend a bit on the particular one, but yeah pretty tough start. Especially now that you don't get instant repair from drydocks, so it's more difficult to shuttle attack ships.

Post Reply